Court of Appeals: October 6 2016

Joe Frankino

10/6/2016 11:00:00 AM
 Comments

All rise!

Hello duelists, and welcome back to Court of Appeals! Every two weeks I'll answer your questions about card interactions, game mechanics and tournament policy submitted to askjudgejoe@gmail.com. I get quite a few submissions, and I most likely can't get to them all. To improve your chances of your e-mail making it to the column, please follow these ground rules...

-I will not answer new questions in the article Comments. If you have a related follow-up question to a question I answer here, you can ask it in the Comments and I will answer it in a reply.

-Please ask only one question per e-mail. Grammar and clarity helps, too.

-I will credit you with how you sign off on your e-mail. If you don't include a name in your signature, I will use your name as it appears in the e-mail's name field with your last initial.

-All answers I give are unofficial unless backed up by an official source.

-I'll be using official game terms whenever possible. If I use jargon (even jargon that is perceived to be universally accepted), I'll note that it's jargon.

-I'll note sources whenever possible.

-I'll always use the official card database as my card text reference. You can find the official card database here: http://www.db.yugioh-card.com/yugiohdb/

-I will not answer any questions about cards not released in the TCG.

Please be seated.

Travis Q. writes…

Hello Judge Joe!

Thanks for answering my previous question. Here's another one. Suppose I have Dark Sanctuary, Destiny Board, and Spirit Message "I" active on my field. Dark Sanctuary lets me play all Spirit Message cards as monsters. My opponent then activates Mystical Space Typhoon and destroys my Destiny Board. Does that also destroy my Spirit Message "I" even though it is in my Monster Zone instead of my Spell and Trap Zone? Thanks! ~ Travis Q.

Hello Travis!

Destiny Board says to send all “Spirit Message” cards you control to the graveyard. It doesn't make a difference if they're Spells or Monsters, they all get sent.

Adam R. writes…

Hello, Judge Joe,

My question today is on Gold Sarcophagus. Now that it's back at three, I'm running it in my Kozmo deck, especially since you can grab back the banished card off Kozmotown that turn. However, I do have one question about that interaction.

Assume I banish Kozmo Farmgirl with Gold Sarcophagus, add it back to hand with Kozmotown, Normal Summon Farmgirl and banish her with her own effect to summon a level 4 or higher Kozmo. She is now back in the banished zone, so if she stays there until my second Standby Phase, will I be able to add her back to hand to complete Gold Sarcophagus' effect, or did her coming back to hand and getting banished again make the game "forget" her link with Gold Sarcophagus.

Thank you, and have a great weekend. Hope judging the OTS goes well. ~ Adam R.

Hello Adam!

A card banished by Gold Sarcophagus must stay banished until your second Standby Phase. Once the card leaves the banished area and is no longer banished by the effect of Gold Sarcophagus, it won't be added back to your hand during the second Standby Phase.

 Gold Sarcophagus
$3.99
$2.43
$1.48
Gold Sarcophagus81700
Set Premium Gold
Number PGLD-EN068
Type Spell Card
Attribute SPELL 
Rarity Gold Rare
Card Text

Select and remove from play 1 card in your Deck. During your second Standby Phase after this card's activation, add the removed card to your hand.


Our Best Prices: [View ALL Prices]
Store Condition Qty Avail Price  
Nebulous Gaming Unlimited - Near Mint 1 $1.03
TinymechCards Unlimited - Near Mint 1 $1.34
Fusion Gaming 1st Edition - Damaged 1 $1.34
TinymechCards 1st Edition - Near Mint 1 $1.48
CardsByERS 1st Edition - Near Mint 1 $1.50
Mind Sculpt Games Unlimited - Moderately Played 1 $1.60

Store.TCGplayer.com allows you to buy cards from any of our vendors, all at the same time, in a simple checkout experience. Shop, Compare & Save with TCGplayer.com! - [Store FAQ]

Chris A. writes…

Hi Judge Joe! How are you doing? Chris A here again today with another question.

This time my question's about the position of cards in your deck. There's a certain player at my locals who will have portions of his deck upside down while part of it is right side up. I don't think he's doing it intentionally but it always seems to happen. Are there any policies or rules against this and could this be considered cheating or marking cards? Thank you!

Hello Chris!

All of the cards of the deck should be facing the same way. Cards facing a different direction can be considered marked because you can easily identify which cards are flipped around simply by looking at the deck while it's sitting on the table.

At the very least, this is the infraction Marked Cards – Minor. Your local judge will need to look at the deck to determine how severe the infraction actually is. Take a look at the Penalty Guidelines for more info since I'll be referencing that here.

Marked Cards – Minor is the infraction when a number of cards can be identified in the Main, Side or Extra Deck and there's no pattern to the cards that are marked. This infraction results in a Warning and the player will need to correct the cards or sleeves depending on what was causing the marked cards.

The Marked Card – Major infraction happens when there are a number of cards that are marked, a pattern to the cards is identifiable, and a judge determines that the cards were not marked intentionally. When the judge identifies that cards are marked and there's a pattern, the only thing separating the infraction from MC-Major and Unsporting Conduct – Cheating is intent. The judge – very likely the Head Judge – will need to determine if the cards were marked intentionally. That's done in a variety of ways that I won't be revealing here. But if the cards are determined to have been intentionally marked, the infraction becomes UC-Cheating and the penalty is Disqualification without Prize.

Back to your example, Chris. If your local judge determines that the player is flipping cards around intentionally to gain an advantage, they can DQ the player which results in removal from the tournament. When a DQ happens at any tournament – even at a local – a report has to be sent to Konami where they will evaluate the incident and decide whether to suspend the player from Organized Play and for how long.

Keep in mind that a DQ for flipped around cards in the deck is very unlikely in my opinion. I once had to investigate such a claim at a large tournament I was Head Judging. A deck check revealed a number of cards that were facing the opposite way but there was no discernible pattern that fit all of the cards. My investigation revealed that the cards that were flipped around were the cards that were on the player's field at the end of the previous game. Since there was no intent and no pattern, the player only received a Warning for the MC-Minor infraction.

Scott writes…

Hi Joe,

This is a lot of confusion going around at tournaments about the interaction between PSY-Framelord Omega and the cards banished facedown with Pot of Desires, so I'm writing to ask if you have any kind of official ruling on the matter. Can Omega return facedown banished cards, and if so can he choose which ones to return. ~ Kind regards, Scott

Hello Scott!

PSY-Framelord Omega's ability targets a banished card. Cards banished by Pot of Desires are face-down so they're not Monsters, Spells, Traps or anything specific, but they're still cards. You may in fact target a face-down banished card with PSY-Framelord Omega's effect to return it to the graveyard.

 PSY-Framelord Omega
$49.95
$11.43
$8.90
PSY-Framelord Omega106032
Set High-Speed Riders
Number HSRD-EN035
Level 8
Type Synchro/Effect Monster
Monster Psychic
Attribute LIGHT 
A / D 2800 / 2200
Rarity Secret Rare
Card Text

1 Tuner + 1 or more non-Tuner monsters
Once per Turn , During Either player's Main Phase : You can Banish both this face-up card on the field and 1 random card in your opponent's hand until your next Standby Phase . During your opponent's Standby phase: You can target 1 Banished card; Return it to the Graveyard . If this card is in your Graveyard: You can target 1 Other card in any Graveyard; shuffle both that card and this card into the Deck .


Our Best Prices: [View ALL Prices]
Store Condition Qty Avail Price  
Collector's Cache 1st Edition - Near Mint 3 $8.90
Lucky's Card Shop 1st Edition - Lightly Played 2 $8.99
Video Game World 1st Edition - Moderately Played 1 $9.00
Tylers CCGs 1st Edition - Lightly Played 1 $9.33
Neverland Games 1st Edition - Moderately Played 1 $10.13
Apex Cards 1st Edition - Near Mint 2 $10.49

Store.TCGplayer.com allows you to buy cards from any of our vendors, all at the same time, in a simple checkout experience. Shop, Compare & Save with TCGplayer.com! - [Store FAQ]

Joel M. writes…

Hi there. Thanks for making these articles and answering my previous questions.

If I use Star Seraph Scepter as an Xyz Material for Evilswarm Ouroboros and Shadow-Imprisoning Mirror is on the field, does Scepter's destruction effect get negated? Scepter says that the Xyz Monster it was used as a material for gains the effect but Scepter itself is not on the field.

Hello Joel!

While Star Seraph Scepter isn't on the field, it will give an effect to Evilswarm Ouroboros, and since Ouroboros is a Dark monster, all of its effects – including the one gifted to it by Scepter – will be negated. The easy way to understand this is to imagine the bullet-pointed text on Star Seraph Scepter is copied into the effect text box on Evilswarm Ouroboros.

Last question!

Chris A. writes…

Hey Judge Joe! Hope you're doing well! Chris A here with another question.

We all know that the effect of El Shaddoll Anoyatyllis prevents players from Special Summoning monsters from the hand or graveyard using spell and trap effects. As for my question, would the effect of El Shaddoll Anoyatyllis prevent both players from Summoning cards like the Paleozoics from the graveyard, The Prime Monarch from the graveyard and Trap Monsters on the field, since they're all considered trap cards?

Thank you!

Hello Chris!

I love that this question was asked because it showcases that cards that were once at the forefront of competitive play still have uses even if the deck is no longer as played today.

El Shaddoll Anoyatyllis will indeed prevent the Paleozoics and The Prime Monarch from Special Summoning themselves because they are in fact Trap Effects. They won't stop conventional Trap Monsters like Metal Reflect Slime since that card isn't Special Summoning a monster from the hand or graveyard, but it will stop the previously mentioned cards and even the Phantom Knight Trap Effects that Special Summon a Phantom Knight from the graveyard! Shaddoll Trains is looking like a more attractive option right now!

And that's it for this week's Court of Appeals! If you have a question about card interactions, game mechanics or tournament policy, send me an e-mail (one question per e-mail please!) to askjudgejoe@gmail.com and your question could be answered in a future Court of Appeals!

Court is adjourned

-Joe Frankino


Joe is a Yu-Gi-Oh! judge and player from Long Island, New York. He's been doing judge things after the previous UDS Invitational to rebuild his points for the Winter 2017 Invitational. Now's the time to grind those points at Regionals and UDS Qualifiers!


Join our Newsletters

Subscribe to get the latest information on your favorite games.

Subscribe

All original content herein is Copyright 2016 Ascension Gaming Network, Inc. TCGplayer® and MaxPoint® are trademarks of Ascension Gaming Network, Inc.
No portion of this web site may be used without expressed written consent. All rights reserved.
Magic the Gathering and its respective properties are copyright Wizards of the Coast
Privacy Policy  |  Terms of Service