Court of Appeals: October 20 2016

Joe Frankino

10/20/2016 11:00:00 AM
 Comments

All rise!

Hello duelists, and welcome back to Court of Appeals! Every two weeks I'll answer your questions about card interactions, game mechanics and tournament policy submitted to askjudgejoe@gmail.com. I get quite a few submissions, and I most likely can't get to them all. To improve your chances of your e-mail making it to the column, please follow these ground rules...

-I will not answer new questions in the article Comments. If you have a related follow-up question to a question I answer here, you can ask it in the Comments and I will answer it in a reply.

-Please ask only one question per e-mail. Grammar and clarity helps, too.

-I will credit you with how you sign off on your e-mail. If you don't include a name in your signature, I will use your name as it appears in the e-mail's name field with your last initial.

-All answers I give are unofficial unless backed up by an official source.

-I'll be using official game terms whenever possible. If I use jargon (even jargon that is perceived to be universally accepted), I'll note that it's jargon.

-I'll note sources whenever possible.

-I'll always use the official card database as my card text reference. You can find the official card database here: http://www.db.yugioh-card.com/yugiohdb/

-I will not answer any questions about cards not released in the TCG.

Please be seated.

Joel M. writes…

Hi there. Thanks for making these articles and answering my previous questions. Ruling issues come up every so often at my locals, but I often forget to email you, so this time I wrote them down as they came up. Without further ado, here's a question.

Can you activate Dante, Traveler of the Burning Abyss's effect while Macro Cosmos is on the field? I've heard that you can't because you can't send cards from the top of your deck to the graveyard. When cards are going from the hand to the graveyard, we have two key words to look for: "discard" means that the card doesn't have to go to the graveyard and "send" means that it does. We don't have this sort of distinction for sending cards from the top of the deck to the graveyard, so I'm not sure.

As an aside, and I'm sorry for the double question, but this is related: what happens if Dimensional Fissure is up instead?

Hello Joel!

As the text to send to the graveyard is before the semi-colon, it's a cost and must be paid as it's written in order for the effect to be activated. Because Macro Cosmos makes sending cards to the graveyard impossible, you can't pay the cost so you can't activate Dante, Traveler of the Burning Abyss's effect. The same holds true for Dimensional Fissure as well, since you may not be able to pay the cost, the game won't let you.

 Dante, Traveler of the Burning Abyss
$8.89
$6.00
$4.00
Dante, Traveler of the Burning Abyss115862
Set Premium Gold: Infinite Gold
Number PGL3-EN077
Level 3
Type Xyz/Effect Monster
Monster Warrior
Attribute LIGHT 
A / D 1000 / 2500
Rarity Gold Rare
Card Text

2 Level 3 monsters
Once per turn: You can detach 1 Xyz Material from this card and choose a number from 1 to 3, then send that many cards from the top of your Deck to the Graveyard; until the end of this turn, this card gains 500 ATK for each card sent to the Graveyard this way. If this card attacks, it is changed to Defense Position at the end of the Battle Phase. If this card is sent to the Graveyard: You can target 1 "Burning Abyss" card in your Graveyard, except this card; add it to your hand.


Our Best Prices: [View ALL Prices]
Store Condition Qty Avail Price  
Kalers Kards 1st Edition - Near Mint 1 $4.00
Collector's Cache 1st Edition - Near Mint 1 $4.48
ygofanatic 1st Edition - Near Mint 3 $4.89
OverdoseGaming 1st Edition - Near Mint 4 $4.93
BigTymeJuice 1st Edition - Near Mint 1 $4.94
TCG Empire 1st Edition - Near Mint 3 $4.95

Store.TCGplayer.com allows you to buy cards from any of our vendors, all at the same time, in a simple checkout experience. Shop, Compare & Save with TCGplayer.com! - [Store FAQ]

Travis Q. writes…

Hello Again Judge Joe!

I really enjoy your articles! They're very informative. My question today is about Palladium Oracle Mahad and when it can be Summoned. If I draw Mahad on, say, turn 3, can I then Special Summon Mahad? Or does the effect only activate if I draw Mahad as a result of a card like Level Modulation or Destiny Draw that allows me free draws? Thanks for answering my questions! ~ Travis Q

Hello Travis!

Palladium Oracle Mahad can be activated from either a normal draw in the Draw Phase or when drawn from a card effect as long as that card effect is the last thing to happen, since Mahad's effect is a “when… you can” effect.

Mizushima writes…

Hello Judge Joe!

My question is about Black Luster Soldier, Ritual Summoned by Tributing Beginning Knight and Evening Twilight Knight. If Ritual Summoned this way, will it be treated as an Effect Monster? Can cards like Fiendish Chain or Effect Veiler target it? Thank you, and have a great weekend. ~ Mizushima

Hello Mizushima!

This is a good question! I have nothing official to back me up on this one, but looking at the situation logically, a monster that gains effects should become an effect monster and can be treated as such. So a Black Luster Soldier Ritual Summoned using Evening Twilight Knight or Beginning Knight is considered an Effect Monster and can be targeted by Effect Veiler and Fiendish Chain, be destroyed by Scarlight Red Dragon Archfiend, and anything else that affects Effect Monsters.

Adam R. writes…

Hello, Judge Joe. Thank you for answering my previous questions and just helping the community in general. I know there have been a lot of interactions that stumped my friends and I, so it's great to have a place to turn.

This interaction seems to come up every time my one friend and I duel. I mostly play Kozmo and my friend plays Masked HERO, so he summons Masked HERO Dark Law quite often. My question is: can I resolve Kozmo Tincan's effect to reveal three Kozmo cards with different names, have my opponent randomly add 1 to my hand and send the other two to the graveyard while Dark Law is applying his effect?

My friend and I thought I could, because Tincan sends cards to the graveyard as part of his effect, not as the cost. However, recently, a mutual friend said that because that part of Tincan specifically references the graveyard, I can't even attempt to activate that effect. My friends and I can see both sides of the argument and examples that seem to support both positions.

Clarity on this issue would be appreciated. Thank you and have a great week, Adam R.

Hello Adam!

You can indeed activate Kozmo Tincan's effect while Masked HERO Dark Law's effect is applying. Since Kozmo Tincan doesn't have any cost associated with it, Dark Law's effect doesn't prevent Tincan from activating. Remember: if you can't pay costs, you can't activate the effect. However, if some condition is going to change how an effect resolves, you resolve as much as possible based on the rules of Problem-Solving Card Text.

 Kozmo Tincan
$20.00
$13.25
$10.26
Kozmo Tincan111181
Set Breakers of Shadow
Number BOSH-EN082
Level 1
Type Effect Monster
Monster Psychic
Attribute LIGHT 
Rarity Ultra Rare
Card Text

During either player's turn: You can banish this card; Special Summon 1 Level 2 or higher "Kozmo" monster from your hand. You can only use this effect of "Kozmo Tincan" once per turn. Once per turn, during the End Phase: You can pay 500 LP; reveal 3 "Kozmo" cards with different names from your Deck, your opponent randomly picks 1 for you to add to your hand, and you send the rest to the Graveyard.


Our Best Prices: [View ALL Prices]
Store Condition Qty Avail Price  
Lotsofcardz 1st Edition - Near Mint 3 $10.26
adventuresON 1st Edition - Near Mint 2 $11.99
Redhammers Unlimited - Lightly Played 2 $12.00
So Much Gaming 1st Edition - Near Mint 2 $12.00
chowproductions 1st Edition - Near Mint 5 $12.95
Redhammers 1st Edition - Lightly Played 1 $13.00

Store.TCGplayer.com allows you to buy cards from any of our vendors, all at the same time, in a simple checkout experience. Shop, Compare & Save with TCGplayer.com! - [Store FAQ]

Andrew V. writes…

Afternoon Judge Joe, I have another question for you. I've been a big fan of Infernoids ever since I saw them, and they're my favorite theme behind Burning Abyss. The question I have is, can I activate Void Imagination's fusion effect if I don't have Infernoid Devyaty and Infernoid Onuncu in my hand, but my opponent controls a monster Summoned from the Extra Deck? Void Imagination should allow me to throw Infernoids from the deck due to its effect, but I've not found a concrete answer on the subject. Thanks for any insight you can give!

Hello Andrew!

If your opponent controls a Monster Special Summoned from the Extra Deck, you can indeed use an Infernoid Devyaty and an Infernoid Onuncu from your deck as Fusion Materials for Infernoid Tierra.

Stanley writes…

Are Paleozoics mandatory when activating from the graveyard? Or are they supposed to do what they were intended to do like in the OCG.

Hello Stanley!

Comparing the TCG to the OCG is never a good idea for a whole bunch of reasons I won't get into right now, but the Paleozoic Trap Effects are optional.

Joel M. writes…

Can you tribute a Kaiju monster for another Kaiju monster? Since a player can only control one, I would think that you can't. Does this apply to both Special Summoning one to your opponent's side of the field and for Tribute Summoning your own?

Hello (again) Joel!

You can't Tribute a Kaiju monster to Summon another one for the reason you surmised. The best you could do is Tribute Set a Kaiju you control for another one, then without a Kaiju monster on your field, you could Special Summon another one from your hand assuming you've met the Summoning conditions.

 Gameciel, the Sea Turtle Kaiju
$8.99
$8.44
$7.89
Gameciel, the Sea Turtle Kaiju107725
Set Dimension of Chaos
Number DOCS-EN088
Level 8
Type Effect Monster
Monster Aqua
Attribute WATER 
A / D 2200 / 3000
Rarity Rare
Card Text

You can Special Summon this card (from your hand) to your opponent's side of the field in Attack Position, by Tributing 1 monster they control. If your opponent controls a "Kaiju" monster, you can Special Summon this card (from your hand) in Attack Position. You can only control 1 "Kaiju" monster. During either player's turn, when your opponent activates a card or effect, except "Gameciel, the Sea Turtle Kaiju": You can remove 2 Kaiju Counters from anywhere on the field; negate the activation, and if you do, banish that card.


Our Best Prices: [View ALL Prices]
Store Condition Qty Avail Price  
Kemps Kollectables 1st Edition - Near Mint 2 $7.89
TCG Green Collection 1st Edition - Near Mint 2 $7.96
bmanzcards 1st Edition - Near Mint 1 $8.99

Store.TCGplayer.com allows you to buy cards from any of our vendors, all at the same time, in a simple checkout experience. Shop, Compare & Save with TCGplayer.com! - [Store FAQ]

Luke writes…

Morning Joe. My mate is playing the new Herald Deck posted up on TCGplayer, and I'm playing a PSY-Frame deck. His field is clear and I have PSY-Frame Circuit, a face-up PSY-Frame Overload and a face-down Overload.

He Summons Red Resonator and I respond with PSY-Framegear Alpha. He doesn't respond and I Summon Alpha, PSY-Frame Driver and search a card.

Here's where it gets confusing. I activate PSY-Frame Circuit's effect. The question comes down to when that effect occurs. Our general response was because we know previously it could be chained to with Mystical Space Typhoon and as it's a Field Spell it would prevent the Synchro Summon. This would make it a new chain Circuit as chain link 1.

This presented another issue: I wanted to use both Overloads to banish both of my on-field monsters for his two cards (Red Resonator and the Summoned monster.)

Now because my opponent can respond means I should also be able to respond with Overload 1 as chain link 2 and the second Overload as chain link 3? It seems logical. Is this legal? Does this miss timing? Did we make multiple Mistakes or incorrect chain links? Regards ~ Luke

Hello Luke!

The chain links are correct. PSY-Frame Circuit would be chain link 1 and assuming your opponent doesn't chain a Spell Speed 3 effect, you could chain either of your PSY-Frame Overloads when your chance to add to the chain comes back.

And yes, you can activate Circuit's effect even if you intend to chain an effect to make the Synchro Summon impossible later in the chain. The game only cares about if the activation conditions are correct at the time of activation.

Last question!

Joe Frankino asks us-ygorules…

Hello...

A player sets Anti-Spell Fragrance and a quick-play spell. On the opponent's turn, he activates Anti-Spell Fragrance. Can the player activate the set quick-play spell during that same turn?

us-ygorules replies…

“Yes.”

Well. That's awkward. I've been ruling that wrong for months now. If you happen to be in a tournament where I ruled that wrong… uh… sorry about that? Well, here's how it actually works. Mea culpa.

And that's it for this week's Court of Appeals! If you have a question about card interactions, game mechanics or tournament policy, send me an e-mail (one question per e-mail please!) to askjudgejoe@gmail.com and your question could be answered in a future Court of Appeals!

Court is adjourned

-Joe Frankino


Joe is a Yu-Gi-Oh! judge and player from Long Island, New York. He once beat a Qliphort deck with Harpies and it was super good. He didn't win another match in that tournament, but that one win was enough.


Join our Newsletters

Subscribe to get the latest information on your favorite games.

Subscribe

All original content herein is Copyright 2016 Ascension Gaming Network, Inc. TCGplayer® and MaxPoint® are trademarks of Ascension Gaming Network, Inc.
No portion of this web site may be used without expressed written consent. All rights reserved.
Magic the Gathering and its respective properties are copyright Wizards of the Coast
Privacy Policy  |  Terms of Service