Court of Appeals: November 3 2016

Joe Frankino

11/3/2016 11:00:00 AM
 Comments

All rise!

Hello duelists, and welcome back to Court of Appeals! Every two weeks I'll answer your questions about card interactions, game mechanics and tournament policy submitted to askjudgejoe@gmail.com. I get quite a few submissions, and I most likely can't get to them all. To improve your chances of your e-mail making it to the column, please follow these ground rules...

-I will not answer new questions in the article Comments. If you have a related follow-up question to a question I answer here, you can ask it in the Comments and I will answer it in a reply.

-Please ask only one question per e-mail. Grammar and clarity helps, too.

-I will credit you with how you sign off on your e-mail. If you don't include a name in your signature, I will use your name as it appears in the e-mail's name field with your last initial.

-All answers I give are unofficial unless backed up by an official source.

-I'll be using official game terms whenever possible. If I use jargon (even jargon that is perceived to be universally accepted), I'll note that it's jargon.

-I'll note sources whenever possible.

-I'll always use the official card database as my card text reference. You can find the official card database here: http://www.db.yugioh-card.com/yugiohdb/

-I will not answer any questions about cards not released in the TCG.

Please be seated.

Antonio writes…

Hello there, Judge Joe! I've been reading your articles for months now. Thank you so much for your work!

I have a question about cards like Swords at Dawn, which state they must equip an Equip Spell Card to an appropriate target, and their interaction with some Equip Spell Cards like the recently released SPYRAL GEAR - Big Red.

Big Red targets a SPYRAL monster in the graveyard, Special Summons it and equips to it. Does that mean only SPYRAL monsters are considered appropriate targets for it in general? For example, if I choose SPYRAL GEAR - Big Red in my Graveyard for Swords at Dawn, can I equip it to my face-up Beaver Warrior, to prevent it from being destroyed by battle for the turn? ~ Thanks!

Hello Antonio!

Unfortunately, the only appropriate targets for SPYRAL GEAR – Big Red are SPYRAL monsters in the graveyard, and Swords at Dawn only allows you to target an appropriate target on the field, so there's no way to resolve this card properly with Big Red as the targeted Equip Spell.

 SPYRAL Super Agent
$33.53
$22.75
$0.01
SPYRAL Super Agent121342
Set The Dark Illusion
Number TDIL-EN086
Level 4
Type Effect Monster
Monster Warrior
Attribute EARTH 
A / D 1900 / 1200
Rarity Ultra Rare
Card Text

If this card is in your hand: You can declare 1 card type (Monster, Spell, or Trap); reveal the top card of your opponent's Deck, and if you do, Special Summon this card if it is a card of that type. If this card is Special Summoned by the effect of a "SPYRAL" card: You can target 1 Spell/Trap Card your opponent controls; destroy it. You can only use each effect of "SPYRAL Super Agent" once per turn.


Our Best Prices: [View ALL Prices]
Store Condition Qty Avail Price  
GalliwGaming 1st Edition - Near Mint 3 $0.01
Kemps Kollectables 1st Edition - Near Mint 3 $20.49
chowproductions 1st Edition - Near Mint 3 $20.95
DankCardsTCG 1st Edition - Near Mint 3 $20.99
tcglowest 1st Edition - Near Mint 20 $20.99
RecentlyMadeGaming 1st Edition - Near Mint 3 $21.00

Store.TCGplayer.com allows you to buy cards from any of our vendors, all at the same time, in a simple checkout experience. Shop, Compare & Save with TCGplayer.com! - [Store FAQ]

Joel M. writes…

If my opponent attacks directly with Fossil Dyna Pachycephalo (fun word to spell by the way), can I activate Ghostrick Jackfrost's effect in my hand? I would think that since I can't Special Summon, I wouldn't be able to activate an effect that includes a Special Summon as a mandatory part of the effect, like this one. I realize the flipping comes first but it's similar to not being able to use Lumina, Lightsworn Summoner or Zombie Master's effects without an appropriate target in the graveyard at the start, even if the discard would be appropriate.

Hello Joel!

Your initial thought is correct. Fossil Dyna's effect prevents Special Summons from happening, so neither player can activate effects that must Special Summon monsters when it resolves. You may not activate Ghostrick Jackfrost's effect from your hand.

Onil writes…

Hi Joe!

I'm testing with ABC and wanted to do a less typical variant, something to Summon the big boss monster A-to-Z-Dragon Buster Cannon, saw that I can use Fusion Tag to copy XYZ Dragon Cannon's name and fuse with ABC, then stumbled with that “original names” sentence. That utterly crippled my plans but I won't surrender that fast.

So I re-read Fusion Tag and compared it with Elemental Hero Prisma. What I found is that Prisma changes its name while Fusion Tag gives you sort of “permission to use” so, if my ruling understanding is correct, as long as A-to-Z's text doesn't state “A Fusion Summon of this card can only be conducted with above materials”, I could Summon it with an ABC Dragon Buster + another monster tagged into XYZ Dragon Cannon.

I'd like to have a confirmation about this. Thank you in advance. ~ Onil

Hello Onil!

I think you're reading too much into what Fusion Tag does. Fusion Tag and Elemental Hero Prisma perform the same function: they change the name of the target to something else. In both cases, the original name of the target is still whatever's printed on the card, which means you can't use them for the Summon of A-to-Z Dragon Buster Cannon.

Dominic L. writes…

Hey Judge Joe, thank you for answering my last question. I have a scenario that just came up. It involves Cyber Dragon Infinity and Chiwen, Light of the Yang Zing. My opponent controls a face-down Chiwen. I control Blue-Eyes Alternative White Dragon and Cyber Dragon Infinity. I use Alternative's effect to destroy the face-down Chiwen. My opponent activates Chiwen's effect in the graveyard and I negate the effect with Infinity.

My opponent says that because Infinity negates and destroys the card, he can just re-use the effect to special another Yang Zing. I know Chiwen says that you can only use 1 effect per turn and only once per turn. We called a judge over the phone and he agreed that Chiwen could activate. But I still feel that it couldn't because the effect was attempted to be used. Any help you can provide would be greatly appreciated.

Hello Dominic!

I have qualms here.

1) A judge giving a ruling via phone is… irregular. It's difficult for a judge to give a proper ruling without seeing the card text in front of them. Hopefully this wasn't during an official tournament.

2) Chiwen says you can only “use” one effect per turn and only once that turn. “Using” an effect means activating it. Even if the activation is negating, it still counts as “using” the effect.

3) Cards in the graveyard can't be destroyed, so even if you ignore “activate” vs. “use”, Chiwen hasn't met the trigger for its activation condition after Cyber Dragon Infinity negates it.

 Cyber Dragon Infinity
$9.17
$8.00
$7.21
Cyber Dragon Infinity122534
Set 2016 Mega-Tins Mega Pack
Number MP16-EN237
Level 6
Type Xyz/Effect Monster
Monster Machine
Attribute LIGHT 
A / D 2100 / 1600
Rarity Secret Rare
Card Text

3 Level 6 LIGHT Machine-Type monsters
Once per turn, you can also Xyz Summon "Cyber Dragon Infinity" by using "Cyber Dragon Nova" you control as the Xyz Material. (Xyz Materials attached to that monster also become Xyz Materials on this card.) This card gains 200 ATK for each Xyz Material attached to it. Once per turn: You can target 1 face-up Attack Position monster on the field; attach it to this card as a face-up Xyz Material. Once per turn, during either player's turn, when a card or effect is activated: You can detach 1 Xyz Material from this card; negate the activation, and if you do, destroy it.


Our Best Prices: [View ALL Prices]
Store Condition Qty Avail Price  
soldji 1st Edition - Near Mint 1 $7.21
Frontline Games 1st Edition - Moderately Played 1 $7.39
Amazing Discoveries 1st Edition - Moderately Played 1 $7.57
Neverland Games 1st Edition - Near Mint 1 $7.88
Amazing Discoveries 1st Edition - Lightly Played 1 $7.89
Amazing Discoveries 1st Edition - Near Mint 2 $7.97

Store.TCGplayer.com allows you to buy cards from any of our vendors, all at the same time, in a simple checkout experience. Shop, Compare & Save with TCGplayer.com! - [Store FAQ]

Travis Q. writes…

Hello Again Judge Joe!

I really appreciate your column and your answers to my questions. I want to ask you about The Winged Dragon of Ra - Sphere Mode and the phrase "your opponent" in the text. Let's suppose I Tribute Summon it to my opponent's side of the field. It's now his monster for one turn. For that turn does the phrase "my opponent" now refer to me or does it still refer to him since he is still "my opponent"? Thanks for your answer! ~ Travis Q

Hello Travis!

The effect is read from the perspective of the player controlling the effect. “Your opponent” on any card always refers to the player who isn't controlling the card. If you give The Winged Dragon of Ra – Sphere Mode to your opponent, you can't target it with effects or for attacks. When the Sphere shifts control back to you, your opponent can't target it for attacks or with effects.

LucidOwl writes…

Hi Judge Joe,

My question deals with chain links and dodging Solemn Strike. Let's say Player A has Fusion Summoned Frightfur Tiger with Polymerization using Edge Imp Sabres and Fluffal Cat. Player B has a Solemn Strike set. Can Player A arrange the chain links as Tiger CL1 and Cat as CL2? If Player B choose to activate Solemn Strike, it would negate Cat. I understand that SEGOC's OCG rule lets a player choose the chain link order, but that's not the case in the TCG. What's your verdict for the TCG ruling? ~ Thank you, LucidOwl

Hello LucidOwl!

As I understand it, because Fluffal Cat is sent to the graveyard as a Fusion Material before the Fusion Summon occurs, Fluffal Cat met its trigger first and must be placed in the chain before Frightful Tiger, whose effect activates when it's Fusion Summoned. But there's currently no official resource that confirms that.

 Solemn Strike
$23.97
$20.09
$16.99
Solemn Strike122528
Set 2016 Mega-Tins Mega Pack
Number MP16-EN231
Type Trap Card
Attribute TRAP 
Rarity Secret Rare
Card Text

When a monster(s) would be Special Summoned, or a monster effect is activated: Pay 1500 LP; negate the Summon or activation, and if you do, destroy that card.


Our Best Prices: [View ALL Prices]
Store Condition Qty Avail Price  
Mixtape collectibles 1st Edition - Lightly Played 1 $16.99
XtremeGames Unlimited - Lightly Played 1 $17.08
Atlas Gaming Unlimited - Near Mint 1 $17.94
galaxy cardshop 1st Edition - Near Mint 1 $18.08
Supercube 1st Edition - Moderately Played 1 $18.73
Just Cool TCG 1st Edition - Near Mint 1 $18.80

Store.TCGplayer.com allows you to buy cards from any of our vendors, all at the same time, in a simple checkout experience. Shop, Compare & Save with TCGplayer.com! - [Store FAQ]

Last question!

Joseph S. writes…

Hello Judge Joe,

Player A attempts to Xyz Summon Minerva, the Exalted Lightsworn from Extra Deck. Player B activates Solemn Warning to negate the Summon and destroy Minerva.

Would the Player B have the option to activate Minerva, the Exalted Lightsworn's “when destroyed” effect?

At locals, I was told this event cannot happen due to the counter trap negating the Summon. However... the term "possession" appears - does that wording contradict local opinion?

Hello Joseph!

Rulebook 9.1 defines cards you possess as a whole bunch of things, one of them being “cards in the middle of being Summoned.” Since Minerva was attempting to be Summoned and the Summon was negated, you did possess Minerva at that time, so you could activate the effect.

And that's it for this week's Court of Appeals! If you have a question about card interactions, game mechanics or tournament policy, send me an e-mail (one question per e-mail please!) to askjudgejoe@gmail.com and your question could be answered in a future Court of Appeals!

Court is adjourned

-Joe Frankino

Joe is a Yu-Gi-Oh! judge and player from Long Island, New York. He never draws his three sided Ghost Reaper & Winter Cherries but he'll draw triple Blue-Eyes Alternative White Dragon with no way to find a regular Blue-Eyes.


Join our Newsletters

Subscribe to get the latest information on your favorite games.

Subscribe

All original content herein is Copyright 2016 Ascension Gaming Network, Inc. TCGplayer® and MaxPoint® are trademarks of Ascension Gaming Network, Inc.
No portion of this web site may be used without expressed written consent. All rights reserved.
Magic the Gathering and its respective properties are copyright Wizards of the Coast
Privacy Policy  |  Terms of Service