Court of Appeals: The Public Knowledge Edition

Joe Frankino

11/17/2016 11:00:00 AM
 Comments

All rise!

Hello duelists, and welcome back to Court of Appeals! Every two weeks I'll answer your questions about card interactions, game mechanics and tournament policy submitted to askjudgejoe@gmail.com. I get quite a few submissions, and I most likely can't get to them all. To improve your chances of your e-mail making it to the column, please follow these ground rules...

-I will not answer new questions in the article Comments. If you have a related follow-up question to a question I answer here, you can ask it in the Comments and I will answer it in a reply.

-Please ask only one question per e-mail. Grammar and clarity helps, too.

-I will credit you with how you sign off on your e-mail. If you don't include a name in your signature, I will use your name as it appears in the e-mail's name field with your last initial.

-All answers I give are unofficial unless backed up by an official source.

-I'll be using official game terms whenever possible. If I use jargon (even jargon that is perceived to be universally accepted), I'll note that it's jargon.

-I'll note sources whenever possible.

-I'll always use the official card database as my card text reference. You can find the official card database here: http://www.db.yugioh-card.com/yugiohdb/

-I will not answer any questions about cards not released in the TCG.

Please be seated.

Rmichaud writes…

Hello! So this sort of has to do with public knowledge. Years back, I had sided against my opponent using Prohibition. Now I remembered part of the card's name but it was a long, difficult one - Karakuri Shogun mdl 00 "Burei". Since I couldn't remember the whole name my opponent said he knew what card I'm calling but in an actual tournament game that wouldn't fly. Would my opponent have to give me the actual card's name or could I call a judge for referencing it?

Hello Rmichaud!

As defined in Yu-Gi-Oh! Tournament Policy, the stats of all cards in the game is Public Knowledge. If you're having trouble recalling a long card name – like any of the Karakuri – you can describe the card as best as you can. For example, if you described a card as “The Level 7 Karakuri Synchro”, that's descriptive enough for Karakuri Shogun mdl 00 "Burei" since that statement can only describe Burei.

Robbie S. writes…

Judge Joe,

My question is as follows: Player A has five monsters on his field, including PSY-Framelord Omega. During his Main Phase, Player A activates and successfully resolves PSY-Framelord Omega's effect banishing a random card out of Player B's hand. Player A then Summons another monster, making the total monsters he has on his side of the field five once again. Assuming that Player A still has five monsters on his side of the field during his next Standby Phase, what happens to Player A's PSY-Framelord Omega and Player B's banished card since PSY-Framelord Omega can no longer return to player A's field since there are five monsters there? ~ Thanks so much, Robbie S.

Hello Robbie!

The opponent's card banished by PSY-Framelord Omega is definitely returned to the player's hand since Omega's text doesn't require both cards to be returned to where they are; you do as much as you can. The big question is what happens to the Omega. Based on previously-known interactions with a card trying to return to the field but not being able to, the Omega would be sent to the graveyard. There's no current rules document – rulebook or rules insert – that directly supports this.

 PSY-Framelord Omega
$49.95
$11.43
$8.90
PSY-Framelord Omega106032
Set High-Speed Riders
Number HSRD-EN035
Level 8
Type Synchro/Effect Monster
Monster Psychic
Attribute LIGHT 
A / D 2800 / 2200
Rarity Secret Rare
Card Text

1 Tuner + 1 or more non-Tuner monsters
Once per Turn , During Either player's Main Phase : You can Banish both this face-up card on the field and 1 random card in your opponent's hand until your next Standby Phase . During your opponent's Standby phase: You can target 1 Banished card; Return it to the Graveyard . If this card is in your Graveyard: You can target 1 Other card in any Graveyard; shuffle both that card and this card into the Deck .


Our Best Prices: [View ALL Prices]
Store Condition Qty Avail Price  
Collector's Cache 1st Edition - Near Mint 3 $8.90
Lucky's Card Shop 1st Edition - Lightly Played 2 $8.99
Video Game World 1st Edition - Moderately Played 1 $9.00
Tylers CCGs 1st Edition - Lightly Played 1 $9.33
Neverland Games 1st Edition - Moderately Played 1 $10.13
Apex Cards 1st Edition - Near Mint 2 $10.49

Store.TCGplayer.com allows you to buy cards from any of our vendors, all at the same time, in a simple checkout experience. Shop, Compare & Save with TCGplayer.com! - [Store FAQ]

Andrews Galletti writes…

In reference to your recent article about public knowledge:

What if when I search a card - Reinforcement of the Army gets Goblindbergh, for example - my opponent isn't paying attention when I reveal the card for confirmation of a correct search, and they either claim to never have seen it or obviously never saw it. When would it be appropriate to deny them the information of what I searched?

If I try to get their attention for any amount of time and show them what I searched, but they still ignore me? If I attempt to show them, and after the first attempt they miss it, and I hide the card in my hand after the search?

Hello Andres!

This is a good question because I've played with my fair share of opponents that just stare into space or are talking to a friend instead of keeping their attention to the game.

My answer isn't in Konami policy, but is simply how I personally approach this type of situation, both from a player and judge standpoint.

Once I've made my selection for an effect, I announce by name the card I've added to my hand and place the card face-up on top of my hand, clearly visible to my opponent. I then shuffle my deck. Once they've cut the deck and passed it back to me, I place my deck back into the Deck Zone and add the revealed card to my hand mixing it in with the others.

I've given both an audible announcement of the card and a visual chance for the opponent to see the card. Once they've cut the deck and I've placed it back into my Deck Zone, the effect has fully resolved. Them cutting and shuffling the deck is an acknowledgment that I'm done searching and they now need to act in order for the game to proceed. If they didn't see the card at that point, I'd be less inclined to reveal the card afterwards if they asked for it.

There's always personal leeway of course, like, if they pass the deck back and immediately ask what card it was, I would be annoyed that they asked for info I just provided but would provide it since nothing occurred between my previous play and my next one so nothing would be gained necessarily from the reveal, but once I start making plays again, revealing the card becomes detrimental to my own strategy.

“Someone whose sole purpose is to confuse you” writes… (Joe: no really, that's how he signed off on the e-mail. That's his name, I guess…)

Hi Judge Joe.

I wanted to be really in-depth and confusing about the confusing Anti-Spell Fragrance thing so I've got this question.

As akin to the previous question, if I set Anti-Spell Fragrance and a Quick-play Spell Card on my turn, and during my opponent's turn I activate the Anti-Spell Fragrance, and my opponent activates Bait Doll targeting the Quick-play, can I still activate the Spell Card, or does the fact that it has been revealed to be a spell card now make it affected by Anti-Spell Fragrance's effect?

Also what would happen if I activated Bait Doll first? Thanks ~ Someone whose sole purpose is to confuse you.

Hello Someone!

Luckily, the current wording on Bait Doll doesn't set the card as it doesn't use the word set. Bait Doll has no interaction with Anti-Spell Fragrance. You may activate that Quick-play Spell Card if you're normally able to.

Neos C. writes…

Hey Joe, I always read your articles to keep up to date with my game mechanics as best as I can but today I've looked all over and I can't find an answer. My question is, if I Summon Number 95: Galaxy-Eyes Dark Matter Dragon but don't have any Dragons in my deck to send to the graveyard does it still make my opponent banish three monsters from their deck? Thanks in advance for the help. - Neos C.

Hello Neos!

The text for sending three differently-named Dragons appears before the semi-colon. That makes it a cost, which must be paid when you activate the effect. If you can't pay the cost, the effect can't activate so your opponent won't banish any monsters from the deck.

 Number 95: Galaxy-Eyes Dark Matter Dragon
$7.99
$5.53
$4.34
Number 95: Galaxy-Eyes Dark Matter Dragon96984
Set Premium Gold: Return of the Bling
Number PGL2-EN015
Level 9
Type Xyz/Effect Monster
Monster Dragon
Attribute DARK 
A / D 4000 / 0
Rarity Secret Rare
Card Text

3 Level 9 monsters You can also Xyz Summon this card by using a "Galaxy-Eyes" Xyz Monster you control as the Xyz Material. (Xyz Materials attached to that monster also become Xyz Materials on this card.) Cannot be used as an Xyz Material for an Xyz Summon. When this card is Xyz Summoned: You can send 3 Dragon-Type monsters with different names from your Deck to the Graveyard; your opponent banishes 3 monsters from their Deck. You can detach 1 Xyz Material from this card; this card can make up to 2 attacks on monsters during each Battle Phase this turn.


Our Best Prices: [View ALL Prices]
Store Condition Qty Avail Price  
CullisonsCards&Games 1st Edition - Lightly Played 1 $4.34
Replay Games CNY Unlimited - Lightly Played 1 $4.42
Blackstone Games 1st Edition - Near Mint 1 $4.55
Game Goblins 1st Edition - Lightly Played 1 $4.62
SKYAThatOneGuy 1st Edition - Near Mint 2 $4.93
Through The Decades 1st Edition - Near Mint 3 $4.94

Store.TCGplayer.com allows you to buy cards from any of our vendors, all at the same time, in a simple checkout experience. Shop, Compare & Save with TCGplayer.com! - [Store FAQ]

Guildertommy writes…

I have a question regarding Public Knowledge:

If my opponent tribute sets a monster using two tributes, and then sets another monster the next turn, and during my turn after he set the 2nd monster, I ask him which of the 2 was the tribute set monster, is that Public Knowledge? To know which of the monsters on the field were tribute set/summoned?

Hello guildertommy!

Currently, this is not considered Public Knowledge as it doesn't fit the definition.

If there was a card effect that looked at monsters being Tribute Set, you could make the case that you need to make note of which ones were Tribute Set in order to ensure proper activations. At the moment, however, no such card effect exists.

To answer the obvious follow-up, rulebook 9.1 pages 20 and 21 specifically say that a monster that is Tribute Set is not considered Summoned.

Last question! Eric D. writes…

Hi Joe

This is a question I've been bugged with for years: Exodia vs Soul Drain.

Because Exodia the Forbidden One is an effect monster I think it would have to activate at some point to force a win but others have told me it's a win condition.

My argument is that if Exodia is a win con they should label Exodia's head as a win con not an effect monster. Since it's labeled as an effect monster it shouldn't be able to activate but it does which then forces the win. This is where I'm lost. ~ Cheers, Eric

Hello Eric!

Using Problem-Solving Card Text rules, if an effect starts a chain, it will use colons and semi-colons in the text. Because Exodia the Forbidden One doesn't use colons or semi-colons, the effect doesn't start a chain. It will apply as soon as it can and you'll win the game. There was a rules update in March 2015 regarding win conditions that isn't covered in rulebook 9.1. Check out this Strategy Site update regarding win-cons, specifically Exodia the Forbidden One.

And that's it for this week's Court of Appeals! If you have a question about card interactions, game mechanics or tournament policy, send me an e-mail (one question per e-mail please!) to askjudgejoe@gmail.com and your question could be answered in a future Court of Appeals!

Court is adjourned

-Joe Frankino


Joe is a Yu-Gi-Oh! judge and player from Long Island, New York. His homebrew decks are always three to five cards off from Regional-topping builds. Too bad those three to five cards usually constitute a shift in the entire strategy. So he really wasn't that close at all.


Join our Newsletters

Subscribe to get the latest information on your favorite games.

Subscribe

All original content herein is Copyright 2016 Ascension Gaming Network, Inc. TCGplayer® and MaxPoint® are trademarks of Ascension Gaming Network, Inc.
No portion of this web site may be used without expressed written consent. All rights reserved.
Magic the Gathering and its respective properties are copyright Wizards of the Coast
Privacy Policy  |  Terms of Service