Court of Appeals: December 1st 2016

Joe Frankino

12/1/2016 11:00:00 AM
 Comments

All rise!

Hello duelists, and welcome back to Court of Appeals! Every two weeks I'll answer your questions about card interactions, game mechanics and tournament policy submitted to askjudgejoe@gmail.com. I get quite a few submissions, and I most likely can't get to them all. To improve your chances of your e-mail making it to the column, please follow these ground rules...

-I will not answer new questions in the article Comments. If you have a related follow-up question to a question I answer here, you can ask it in the Comments and I will answer it in a reply.

-Please ask only one question per e-mail. Grammar and clarity helps, too.

-I will credit you with how you sign off on your e-mail. If you don't include a name in your signature, I will use your name as it appears in the e-mail's name field with your last initial.

-All answers I give are unofficial unless backed up by an official source.

-I'll be using official game terms whenever possible. If I use jargon (even jargon that is perceived to be universally accepted), I'll note that it's jargon.

-I'll note sources whenever possible.

-I'll always use the official card database as my card text reference. You can find the official card database here: http://www.db.yugioh-card.com/yugiohdb/

-I will not answer any questions about cards not released in the TCG.

Please be seated.

Chris A. writes…

Hi Judge Joe! How are you doing today? Chris A. here again with another question for you!

My question today is, can Magnet Reverse Special Summon my ABC-Dragon Buster from the removed zone or graveyard if it wasn't properly Special Summoned first? To play some Theory-Oh! here, let's say my opponent banished my ABC-Dragon Buster(s) via Ghost Reaper and Winter Cherries.

I've looked into various sources with some of them stating that it can and some that it can't. It's honestly causing a lot of confusion and since ABC is popular at my locals, I feel like this would be important to know. ~ Thanks in advance, Chris A.

Hello Chris!

ABC-Dragon Buster says it must first be Special Summoned by banishing the three required monsters from your field or graveyard. Magnet Reverse doesn't allow you to ignore these Summoning restrictions.

 Magnet Reverse
$12.98
$2.99
$0.50
Magnet Reverse122945
Set Duelist Pack: Rivals of the Pharaoh
Number DPRP-EN006
Type Spell Card
Attribute SPELL 
Rarity Super Rare
Card Text

Target 1 of your Machine or Rock-Type monsters, that is banished or is in your Graveyard, that cannot be Normal Summoned/Set; Special Summon it.


Our Best Prices: [View ALL Prices]
Store Condition Qty Avail Price  
Dragon Fist Cards 1st Edition - Near Mint 1 $0.50
CullisonsCards&Games 1st Edition - Lightly Played 1 $1.46
The Sage's Shoppe 1st Edition - Near Mint 1 $1.70
Neverland Games 1st Edition - Near Mint 8 $1.91
XtremeGames 1st Edition - Near Mint 3 $2.24
Amazing Discoveries 1st Edition - Moderately Played 2 $2.30

Store.TCGplayer.com allows you to buy cards from any of our vendors, all at the same time, in a simple checkout experience. Shop, Compare & Save with TCGplayer.com! - [Store FAQ]

Brian C. writes…

Good afternoon,

Can Lightning Vortex be activated and resolved without the opponent having any face-up monsters? Thanks!

Hello Brian!

Your opponent must control at least one face-up monster to activate Lightning Vortex.

Damon B. writes…

Hey Joe,

My question is does Swap Frog's ability to Special Summon itself start a chain? The Wiki states that in the TCG the water monster you discard is indeed a cost inferring it is an effect that would start a chain. However, in the OCG it is ruled that it does not start a chain. Since this card is pre-PSCT, what is the correct answer? Thanks, Damon

Hello Damon!

Since your question was submitted, Swap Frog received updated text, making it clear that Swap Frog's Special Summon doesn't start a chain.

Spencer S. writes…

Hello Judge Joe,

I have a question about the recently released Denglong, First of the Yang Zing. It is probably my new favorite card. I'm specifically wondering about the rulings involved with its third effect that states "If this face-up card leaves the field: You can Special Summon 1 "Yang Zing" monster from your Deck.” I understand that this effect activates when it's sent to the graveyard OR when it is banished. I am wondering, though, does this effect still trigger when it is returned to hand or shuffled into the deck? (aka sent back to the Extra Deck)

It is my understanding that this effect will still trigger, but I want to make sure this is correct.

Thank you, Spencer

Hello Spencer!

“Leaves the field” has specific conditions as described in rulebook 9.1 page 45. “Leaves the field” effects will activate if a monster goes from the field to the graveyard, field to hand, field to banished, or field to Extra Deck. “Leaves the field” effects will not activate if a monster goes from field to Main Deck or field to being Xyz Materials.

 Denglong, First of the Yang Zing
$20.00
$6.64
$1.90
Denglong, First of the Yang Zing124746
Set Invasion: Vengeance
Number INOV-EN048
Level 5
Type Synchro/Tuner/Effect Monster
Monster Wyrm
Attribute LIGHT 
A / D 0 / 2800
Rarity Ultra Rare
Card Text

1 Tuner + 1 or more non-Tuner monsters
If this card is Special Summoned: You can add 1 "Yang Zing" card from your Deck to your hand. Once per turn: You can send 1 Wyrm-Type monster from your Deck to the Graveyard; this card's Level becomes the sent monster's. If this face-up card leaves the field: You can Special Summon 1 "Yang Zing" monster from your Deck. You can only Special Summon "Denglong, First of the Yang Zing(s)" once per turn.


Our Best Prices: [View ALL Prices]
Store Condition Qty Avail Price  
Hyperbolic gaming Unlimited - Near Mint 9 $1.00
Buis Card Place 1st Edition - Near Mint 3 $1.90
Limitless Games 1st Edition - Near Mint 1 $1.96
Shoppingcart Games 1st Edition - Near Mint 2 $1.97
J.R.Cards 1st Edition - Near Mint 1 $1.99
Pittsburgh yugioh Unlimited - Near Mint 3 $2.00

Store.TCGplayer.com allows you to buy cards from any of our vendors, all at the same time, in a simple checkout experience. Shop, Compare & Save with TCGplayer.com! - [Store FAQ]

Eli C. writes…

Hi Judge Joe. Eli C. of Nashville Tennessee. A friend asked me... a Paleozoic player activates Magical Hats, and we think it's legal to select a Paleozoic that is being treated as a monster but can you use the exact same Paleozoic from the deck as one of the traps? Also how can you identify which one was the monster? Thank you.

Hello Eli!

There's no official answer, but there are a number of ways for you to differentiate the card that's the monster from the ones that are traps. One way you could do this is to remove the card from the sleeve and put it back upside down. The other two cards (the traps from the deck) should remain right-side up. That way, when one of the face-downs are attacked, you can tell which one is the monster.

Andrew T. writes…

Hello Joe,

If I activate a Pendulum Card and place it in a Pendulum Zone and my opponent negates it with Toadally Awesome, what happens? You can't set Pendulums in the Pendulum Zone, so does it go to the opponent's monster field face-down? Thank you!

Sincerely, Andrew T.

A Pendulum Monster is a Monster Card. It will destroyed and be set in a Monster Zone.

 Toadally Awesome
$30.99
$9.91
$5.79
Toadally Awesome124750
Set Invasion: Vengeance
Number INOV-EN052
Level 2
Type Xyz/Effect Monster
Monster Aqua
Attribute WATER 
A / D 2200 / 0
Rarity Secret Rare
Card Text

2 Level 2 Aqua-Type monsters
Once per turn, during the Standby Phase: You can detach 1 Xyz Material from this card; Special Summon 1 "Frog" monster from your Deck. Once per turn, during either player's turn, when your opponent activates a Spell/Trap Card, or monster effect: You can send 1 Aqua-Type monster from your hand or face-up from your field to the Graveyard; negate the activation, and if you do, destroy that card, then you can Set it to your field. If this card is sent to the Graveyard: You can target 1 WATER monster in your Graveyard; add it to your hand.


Our Best Prices: [View ALL Prices]
Store Condition Qty Avail Price  
Pieps Cards Unlimited - Near Mint 1 $2.50
MatixCollectables Unlimited - Near Mint 1 $4.49
PlusOneGaming Unlimited - Lightly Played 3 $4.89
OurGameHavenTX Unlimited - Lightly Played 1 $4.89
GenesisGamingHobby Unlimited - Near Mint 2 $4.96
Buis Card Place Unlimited - Near Mint 1 $5.40

Store.TCGplayer.com allows you to buy cards from any of our vendors, all at the same time, in a simple checkout experience. Shop, Compare & Save with TCGplayer.com! - [Store FAQ]

Holira writes…

Hello Judge Joe,

So me and my friends are having a dispute about stacking rules. (Joe: Well this sounds like a great question so far…)

I was told that you can arrange cards in your deck as long as your opponent shuffles afterwards. For example, if there are three Polymerizations next to each other in the center of the deck, I put one on top and bottom and then hand the deck to my opponent. Is this legal?

Hello Holira!

Konami Policy Documents have this to say about shuffling: “A player cannot pre-sort their Deck (sorting Monsters/Spell/Trap, etc) without thoroughly shuffling the Deck afterwards.”

You can only “de-clump” the deck if you shuffle and thoroughly randomize the deck first. Placing the two Polymerizations on the top and bottom of the deck and then passing the deck to your opponent is super-duper not ok since you didn't shuffle the deck between pre-sorting the cards and giving the deck to your opponent.

Adam R. writes…

Hello, Judge Joe,

As always, thank you for taking the time to answer so many of the community's questions, my own included. With so many new cards coming out recently, it can be confusing how they interact with older cards and how certain situations should resolve, and having a place to turn is invaluable.

This situation came up when I was at a local the other night. I was piloting Madolches against a Metalfoes deck and it was my turn. I Normal Summoned Madolche Hootcake and my opponent responded by chaining Fullmetalfoes Fusion, fusing his Metalfoes Goldriver and Metalfoes Silverd to Fusion Summon Fullmetalfoes Alkahest. My opponent then said he was chaining Fullmetalfoes Alkahest's effect to its own Summon, equipping my Madolche Hootcake.

There were a couple spectators and some of them said my opponent couldn't chain Fullmetalfoes Alkahest's effect to its own summon because priority passed back to me, while others said he could because Fullmetalfoes Alkahest was a Spell Speed 2 effect. My opponent had game regardless, so I just gave up, but I am curious about how that should have resolved, since I know a lot of people looking to pilot Metalfoes.

Thank you and have a great day, Adam R.

Hello Adam!

Madolche Hootcake's effect to Special Summon a Madolche from the deck is an ignition effect. It can only be activated in an open game state. Fullmetalfoes Alkahest's effect to equip an opponent's Effect Monster is a Quick Effect since it says so. Looking at Fast Effect rules, after a chain resolves, the turn player has the first chance to activate fast effects – Spell Speed 2 and higher effects – then your opponent gets the chance. Fullmetalfoes Alkahest can activate its effect at this time before the game state becomes open, which is when Madolche Hootcake's effect can be activated.

The “priority” the spectators were referring to was likely Fast Effect timing. While you do have the first chance to activate Fast Effects, Hootcake isn't a Fast Effect, so Alkahest is going to get the better of the owl.

And that's it for this week's Court of Appeals! If you have a question about card interactions, game mechanics or tournament policy, send me an e-mail (one question per e-mail please!) to askjudgejoe@gmail.com and your question could be answered in a future Court of Appeals!

Court is adjourned

-Joe Frankino


Joe is a Yu-Gi-Oh! judge and player from Long Island, New York. He once tried to Solemn Judgment the Fusion Summon of Blue-Eyes Ultimate Dragon.


Join our Newsletters

Subscribe to get the latest information on your favorite games.

Subscribe

All original content herein is Copyright 2016 Ascension Gaming Network, Inc. TCGplayer® and MaxPoint® are trademarks of Ascension Gaming Network, Inc.
No portion of this web site may be used without expressed written consent. All rights reserved.
Magic the Gathering and its respective properties are copyright Wizards of the Coast
Privacy Policy  |  Terms of Service