Court of Appeals: December 15 2016

Joe Frankino

12/15/2016 11:00:00 AM
 Comments

All rise!

Hello duelists, and welcome back to Court of Appeals! Every two weeks I'll answer your questions about card interactions, game mechanics and tournament policy submitted to askjudgejoe@gmail.com. I get quite a few submissions, and I most likely can't get to them all. To improve your chances of your e-mail making it to the column, please follow these ground rules...

-I will not answer new questions in the article Comments. If you have a related follow-up question to a question I answer here, you can ask it in the Comments and I will answer it in a reply.

-Please ask only one question per e-mail. Grammar and clarity helps, too.

-I will credit you with how you sign off on your e-mail. If you don't include a name in your signature, I will use your name as it appears in the e-mail's name field with your last initial.

-All answers I give are unofficial unless backed up by an official source.

-I'll be using official game terms whenever possible. If I use jargon (even jargon that is perceived to be universally accepted), I'll note that it's jargon.

-I'll note sources whenever possible.

-I'll always use the official card database as my card text reference. You can find the official card database here: http://www.db.yugioh-card.com/yugiohdb/

-I will not answer any questions about cards not released in the TCG.

Please be seated.

Michael writes…

Hello…

I just have a question about one aspect of public knowledge:

Let's say I set a Metalfoes trap from a Metalfoes effect. Then I set another trap from my hand. I end my turn. During my opponent's turn, he asks me information about my set traps. What am I forced to say? Which one comes from the Metalfoes? Or nothing at all?

Thanks! Michael

Hello Michael!

Take a read at the Black and White about Public Knowledge I wrote some weeks ago. The short answer is that once your Metalfoes effect resolves and the card is put face-down, you're not required to reveal the card or its location again.

 Metalfoes Mithrilium
$14.25
$1.10
$0.56
Metalfoes Mithrilium124738
Set Invasion: Vengeance
Number INOV-EN040
Level 6
Type Fusion/Effect Monster
Monster Psychic
Attribute FIRE 
A / D 2600 / 1000
Rarity Ultra Rare
Card Text

1 "Metalfoes" monster + 1 Pendulum Monster
You can target 2 "Metalfoes" cards in your Graveyard and 1 card on the field; shuffle the targets from your Graveyard into the Deck, and if you do, return the target on the field to the hand. You can only use this effect of "Metalfoes Mithrilium" once per turn. If this card is sent from the field to the Graveyard: You can Special Summon 1 "Metalfoes" Pendulum Monster from your Graveyard or face-up from your Extra Deck.


Our Best Prices: [View ALL Prices]
Store Condition Qty Avail Price  
Game Haven St George Unlimited - Near Mint 1 $0.32
Pro-PlayGames Unlimited - Lightly Played 1 $0.45
BetaTCG 2 1st Edition - Lightly Played 2 $0.56
SKYAThatOneGuy 1st Edition - Near Mint 1 $0.56
No Limit Gaming Unlimited - Near Mint 7 $0.56
BetaTCG 2 1st Edition - Near Mint 1 $0.57

Store.TCGplayer.com allows you to buy cards from any of our vendors, all at the same time, in a simple checkout experience. Shop, Compare & Save with TCGplayer.com! - [Store FAQ]

Ahmed G. writes…

Hello Judge Joe,

I was hoping you could clarify the interaction between Toadally Awesome and Pendulum Monsters and Pendulum Spells. When Toadally Awesome negates the activation of a Pendulum Spell can you set it as a monster on your side of the field?

Hello Ahmed!

When a Pendulum Monster is destroyed from either the Monster Zone or the Pendulum Zone, it's sent to either the Extra Deck or the graveyard – which will happen if the activation into the Pendulum Zone is negated. In either case, it's a Monster Card in the graveyard or the Extra Deck and it will be set into your Monster Zone.

Scott S. writes…

Hello Joe! I want to thank you first off for all the articles you put out they truly help a lot. My question today is huge for me with the upcoming YCS Anaheim event. (Joe: Oops! This is a little late, but I hope you did well!)

I understand Raremetalfoes Bismugear activates when it's first destroyed, but does it need to stay in the Extra Deck face-up or in the graveyard in order to get the search at the end of the turn?

Hello Scott!

Once the effect initially resolves, it doesn't matter where Raremetalfoes Bismugear ends up, you'll get your search in the End Phase.

Zelot writes…

Hello Judge Joe!

This happened to me a long while ago but I was thinking back to this. My opponent is playing Burning Abyss and has one card in hand. I attack his Dante, and it has Libic, Malebranche of the Burning Abyss, as an Xyz Material. A Dante, Traveler of the Burning Abyss, and a Libic hit the graveyeard and he orders his chain as follows: Chain Link 1 Libic, Chain Link 2 Dante, targeting a random Burning Abyss Monster.

I know you can't resolve Libic's effect if there's no Burning Abyss monster in your hand, but the one card was an unknown and could have possibly been a Burning Abyss, so I let the chain resolve. Dante added the random Burning Abyss monster to his hand, and Libic proceeded to Special Summon it. I passed turn and my opponent drew, then set two cards to his backrow and passed, indicating that the unknown card was not a Burning Abyss monster.

I was already in command of the duel and won so I didn't think I needed to call a Judge, but would a Judge call have been right after the game state had been accepted by both players?

~ Thanks, Zelot

Hello Zelot!

This is a good question with a non-trivial answer.

Firstly, this game state is not accepted. You, as the player, are forced to assume that your opponent's acting in good faith when he activated Libic's effect. It's appropriate to remind your opponent that they must have a Burning Abyss in their hand when Libic activates but beyond that, you'll need to take them at their word.

Once you realize that the activation could not have been legal, at that point, a judge should be called because they will need to investigate because the infraction is either Procedural Error – Minor (illegal activation) or Unsporting Conduct – Cheating. The judge will need to determine if the Burning Abyss player knew about how Libic is supposed to work and proceeded to activate the effect anyway. If the judge determines that this sequence happened without knowledge of how it should have worked, then there was no intent to cheat and the penalty should be PE-Minor. If the judge determines that the player intentionally activated the effect knowing the effect couldn't be activated, the Head Judge should be notified because they'll need to begin Disqualification procedures.

 Dante, Traveler of the Burning Abyss
$8.89
$6.00
$4.00
Dante, Traveler of the Burning Abyss115862
Set Premium Gold: Infinite Gold
Number PGL3-EN077
Level 3
Type Xyz/Effect Monster
Monster Warrior
Attribute LIGHT 
A / D 1000 / 2500
Rarity Gold Rare
Card Text

2 Level 3 monsters
Once per turn: You can detach 1 Xyz Material from this card and choose a number from 1 to 3, then send that many cards from the top of your Deck to the Graveyard; until the end of this turn, this card gains 500 ATK for each card sent to the Graveyard this way. If this card attacks, it is changed to Defense Position at the end of the Battle Phase. If this card is sent to the Graveyard: You can target 1 "Burning Abyss" card in your Graveyard, except this card; add it to your hand.


Our Best Prices: [View ALL Prices]
Store Condition Qty Avail Price  
Kalers Kards 1st Edition - Near Mint 1 $4.00
Collector's Cache 1st Edition - Near Mint 1 $4.48
ygofanatic 1st Edition - Near Mint 3 $4.89
OverdoseGaming 1st Edition - Near Mint 4 $4.93
BigTymeJuice 1st Edition - Near Mint 1 $4.94
TCG Empire 1st Edition - Near Mint 3 $4.95

Store.TCGplayer.com allows you to buy cards from any of our vendors, all at the same time, in a simple checkout experience. Shop, Compare & Save with TCGplayer.com! - [Store FAQ]

Alan writes…

Hello Joe. I'm trying to get a hang of this card interaction. Before the errata, Emergency Provisions could destroy itself to gain the Life Points. (Joe: Not… entirely true, unfortunately.) Therefore, I was informed to visualize a spell being activated - it sits in the Spell and Trap Card Zone until the effects resolve, and then the spell's sent to the graveyard. That's the only way I can see it being targeted and destroyed. And still, it gets it effect off in the chain (barring negation.)

So with Snow Plow Hustle Rustle, my opponent attacks and the effect activation condition is met and I can Special Summon Snow Plow Hustle Rustle but the question is: if I chained a Quick-Play Spell or a Trap to the destruction effect. Will the summon be stopped, or will no burn damage be dealt because the cards have already been sent to the graveyard? Thanks again. ~Alan

Hello Alan!

Emergency Provisions has never been able to send itself to the graveyard as far as I'm aware – that's kind of an extension of Mystical Space Typhoon not being able to target itself.

When Snow Plow Hustle Rustle activates and Emergency Provisions is chained, you can send as many cards as you like to the graveyard, which are sent there right when you activate Emergency Provisions. When the chain resolves you'll gain Life Points, then Snow Plow Hustle Rustle resolves, destroying Emergency Provisions and whatever spells and traps you didn't send to the graveyard and burning your opponent for 200x whatever that number of cards was.

Normal writes…

Hi Judge…

I recently mixed Destruction Swords with Shaddolls. I'm curious about the difference between cost and condition when it comes to Shaddoll effects. Destruction Sword Fusion's secondary effect involves sending one card from your hand to the graveyard to add Destruction Sword Fusion back into hand. So my question is if I send a Shaddoll card to add Destruction Sword Fusion back to my hand, does the Shaddoll effect activate?

Hello Normal!

Take a look at the following article about Problem-Solving Card Text. Since “You can send 1 card from your hand to the Graveyard;” appears before the semi-colon, it means you send the card when you activate the effect. Because of that, you're not sending the Shaddoll card for a card effect, so the Shaddoll monster can't activate.

Justin R. writes…

Hey, Judge Joe! Thanks for answering my previous questions. I'm always coming across unclear situations in Yu-Gi-Oh! (no surprise there). Here's another one for you.

I understand that cards like Mystical Space Typhoon, Twin Twisters, and Icarus Attack can't target themselves for their effects. I'm also under the impression, however, that PSY-Frame Overload can target itself for its effect. This leads me to believe that it is Spell/Trap cards with destruction effects that target that have this restriction placed upon them.

This Reasoning would lead us to conclude that a set Cosmic Cyclone, that is then activated, could target itself for its effect. But, instinctually, something doesn't seem right about that somehow. What am I missing here? ~ Thanks! Regards, Justin R.

Hello Justin!

The missing link in your Reasoning is that PSY-Frame Overload is a continuous card while everything else isn't. A Spell/Trap that isn't continuous doesn't need to stay on the field to resolve and can't target itself for effects, but continuous cards do need to stay on the field, and they can also target themselves with effects. This difference seems to be just a part of game rules, so there's no other justification beyond “this is how it is.”

 PSY-Framelord Omega
$49.95
$11.43
$8.90
PSY-Framelord Omega106032
Set High-Speed Riders
Number HSRD-EN035
Level 8
Type Synchro/Effect Monster
Monster Psychic
Attribute LIGHT 
A / D 2800 / 2200
Rarity Secret Rare
Card Text

1 Tuner + 1 or more non-Tuner monsters
Once per Turn , During Either player's Main Phase : You can Banish both this face-up card on the field and 1 random card in your opponent's hand until your next Standby Phase . During your opponent's Standby phase: You can target 1 Banished card; Return it to the Graveyard . If this card is in your Graveyard: You can target 1 Other card in any Graveyard; shuffle both that card and this card into the Deck .


Our Best Prices: [View ALL Prices]
Store Condition Qty Avail Price  
Collector's Cache 1st Edition - Near Mint 3 $8.90
Lucky's Card Shop 1st Edition - Lightly Played 2 $8.99
Video Game World 1st Edition - Moderately Played 1 $9.00
Tylers CCGs 1st Edition - Lightly Played 1 $9.33
Neverland Games 1st Edition - Moderately Played 1 $10.13
Apex Cards 1st Edition - Near Mint 2 $10.49

Store.TCGplayer.com allows you to buy cards from any of our vendors, all at the same time, in a simple checkout experience. Shop, Compare & Save with TCGplayer.com! - [Store FAQ]

Last question!

James W. writes…

Hey Joe! Maybe you could shed some light on what happens here. You're the best!

Field at the moment: Turn player has Fullmetalfoes Alkahest and a Normal Monster (can't remember which one) and a set back row. Opponent has an ABC-Dragon Buster face up in Attack Position

Turn player activates the effect of Fullmetalfoes Alkahest to target the opponent's ABC-Dragon Buster in an attempt to equip ABC-Dragon Buster to Alkahest. The opponent responds by activating the effect of ABC-Dragon Buster, sending a card from hand as cost and targeting Fullmeatalfoes Alkahest in an attempt to banish it. Turn player responds by activating his face- down Quick-Play spell Fullmetalfoes Fusion sending Alkahest and 1 normal monster as Fusion Materials to bring out another Alkahest. The opponent doesn't have a response and the chain begins to resolve. Fusion brings out a brand new Alkahest and the target for ABC-Dragon Buster is no longer on the field.

Question: What happens to the ABC Dragon Buster that was selected as the target of the first Alkahest?

My two thoughts, which both have the potential to be incredibly incorrect:

Because the original Alkahest is no longer on the field, does the ABC-Dragon Buster stay put? OR does the activation of the first Alkahest try and resolve as much as it can by bringing the ABC Dragon Buster to the S/T card zone and it realizes its not attached to anything and proceeds to go to the graveyard?

Hello James!

This has been a popular question that is often discussed online because of some conflicting information.

Old rulings on Relinquished say that a card that tries to be equipped to something that isn't there goes to the graveyard by game mechanics. However, recent YCS's in North America have ruled that a monster that tried to equip or attach to a monster that isn't there will not go to the graveyard and will instead stay as a monster and not move anywhere.

While I'm not usually one to assume, I can't imagine that so many Head Judges would rule this way unless they asked about the issue and were told it works like this. The Relinquished ruling dates back to almost the beginning of the TCG so its continued validity is very-much in question. I'm inclined to agree that the target of Alkahest will not go to the graveyard if it can't be equipped to Alkahest. If you're unsure, ask the appropriate rules e-mail for your region. For North America, it's us-ygorules@konami.com.

And that's it for this week's Court of Appeals! If you have a question about card interactions, game mechanics or tournament policy, send me an e-mail (one question per e-mail please!) to askjudgejoe@gmail.com and your question could be answered in a future Court of Appeals!

Court is adjourned

-Joe Frankino


Joe is a Yu-Gi-Oh! judge and player from Long Island, New York. He's sometimes writes in a blog and streams other video game nonsense! The blog is at http://crazdgamer.com and the stream is at http://twitch.tv/crazdgamer.


Join our Newsletters

Subscribe to get the latest information on your favorite games.

Subscribe

All original content herein is Copyright 2016 Ascension Gaming Network, Inc. TCGplayer® and MaxPoint® are trademarks of Ascension Gaming Network, Inc.
No portion of this web site may be used without expressed written consent. All rights reserved.
Magic the Gathering and its respective properties are copyright Wizards of the Coast
Privacy Policy  |  Terms of Service