Court of Appeals: The PSCT Edition

Joe Frankino

2/9/2017 11:00:00 AM
 Comments

All rise!

Hello duelists, and welcome back to Court of Appeals! Every two weeks I'll answer your questions about card interactions, game mechanics and tournament policy submitted to askjudgejoe@gmail.com. I get quite a few submissions, and I most likely can't get to them all. To improve your chances of your e-mail making it to the column, please follow these ground rules...

-I will not answer new questions in the article Comments. If you have a related follow-up question to a question I answer here, you can ask it in the Comments and I will answer it in a reply.

-Please ask only one question per e-mail. Grammar and clarity helps, too.

-I will credit you with how you sign off on your e-mail. If you don't include a name in your signature, I will use your name as it appears in the e-mail's name field with your last initial.

-All answers I give are unofficial unless backed up by an official source.

-I'll be using official game terms whenever possible. If I use jargon (even jargon that is perceived to be universally accepted), I'll note that it's jargon.

-I'll note sources whenever possible.

-I'll always use the official card database as my card text reference. You can find the official card database here: http://www.db.yugioh-card.com/yugiohdb/

-I will not answer any questions about cards not released in the TCG.

Please be seated.

Christopher A. writes…

Hi Judge Joe! How're you doing?

My question today concerns D/D/D Dragonking Bane Beowulf. One of its effects reads "Once per turn, during your Standby Phase: You can destroy all cards in the Spell and Trap Zones." Would Beowulf be able to destroy cards in the Pendulum Zone as well or would he not be able to if Pendulum Zones are separate from the Spell and Trap Zone?

Thanks for your time! ~ Christopher A.

Hello Chris!

The Spell and Trap Zones are the five zones between the Monster Zones and yourself. Any card effect that refers to the Spell and Trap Zones will only affect these five zones. While the Pendulum Zones and the Field Zone have Spells in them, they're not considered Spell and Trap Zones for effects like D/D/D Dragonking Bane Beowulf.

 D/D/D Dragonbane King Beowulf
$1.00
$0.31
$0.05
D/D/D Dragonbane King Beowulf127063
Set Structure Deck: Pendulum Domination
Number SDPD-EN041
Type Fusion/Effect Monster
Monster Fiend
Attribute DARK 
A / D 3000 / 2500
Rarity Ultra Rare
Card Text

1 "D/D/D" monster + 1 "D/D" monster

If a "D/D" monster you control attacks a Defense Position monster, inflict piercing battle damage to your opponent. Once per turn, during your Standby Phase: You can destroy all cards in the Spell & Trap Zones.


Our Best Prices: [View ALL Prices]
Store Condition Qty Avail Price  
RunoftheMillgames 1st Edition - Near Mint 2 $0.05
ChardarYuGiOh 1st Edition - Near Mint 2 $0.05
OverdoseGaming 1st Edition - Near Mint 1 $0.08
Kirwan's Game Store 1st Edition - Near Mint 1 $0.12
Weird Realms 1st Edition - Near Mint 1 $0.13
SuperGamesInc 1st Edition - Near Mint 20 $0.15

Store.TCGplayer.com allows you to buy cards from any of our vendors, all at the same time, in a simple checkout experience. Shop, Compare & Save with TCGplayer.com! - [Store FAQ]

Owen writes…

Hi Judge Joe,

This is a little confusing for me, so I've decided to ask for help. I've recently added Genex Neutron to my Superheavy Samurai deck, but I'm not sure if I'm using the effect correctly. The card reads on the latest errata "Once per turn, during the End Phase, if this card was Normal Summoned this turn: you can add 1 Machine-Type Tuner monster from your deck to your hand."

If my thoughts are correct, I can Normal Summon it, then Special Summon Superheavy Samurai Trumpeter, Synchro Summon Superheavy Samurai Ogre, then in the End Phase add a Machine Tuner because Genex Neutron's condition was met (Normal Summoned that turn) if I am wrong or right please let me know. Thanks in advance ~ Owen

Hello Owen!

This is a concept that a lot of players and judges mix up. Problem-Solving Card Text tells us exactly when an effect is activated. Read Part 3 for more details on activation conditions.

Now that you've read that, let's take another look at Genex Neutron. “Once per turn, during the End Phase, if this card was Normal Summoned this turn:”. Since all of that is before the colon, that tells us “how” and “when” this effect activates. Genex Neutron activates in the End Phase. Knowing this, you also have to know that monster effects don't activate off the field unless they specifically say activate in a place that isn't the field. Because Genex Neutron isn't on the field in the End Phase, its effect can't be activated.

Keep in mind this text is different than a card like Majespecter Cat – Nekomata. It searches in the End Phase, but look at the activation condition's wording: “When this card is Normal or Special Summoned:” This effect activates when Nekomata is Normal or Special Summoned and resolves at that time. You'll search in the End Phase, but it won't matter what happens to the cat between the Summon and the End Phase since its ability has already resolved. Always take note at what the activation condition is and you'll be in good shape.

Anthony C. writes…

Hey Joe! Long time listener first time caller.

My question is regarding being able activate a card's effects more than once per turn with multiple copies on field. For example, with cards like Lonefire Blossom and Lumina,the Lightsworn Summoner, if you have all three copies on the field you're able to activate the same effect for each of them individually but cards like Karakuri Komachi mdl 224 Ninishi is only able to activate its effect once that turn even with all three on the field. So how can you tell by the card and its wording if you're able to activate a card with its effect more than once with multiple copies?

Thanks again brother for your time :)

Hello Anthony!

The difference is in where you see the words “once per turn”.

Lonefire Blossom, Lumina, Lightsworn Summoner, Zombie Master and friends say in part “Once per turn:”. The text “once per turn” is before the colon. This makes it an activation condition and the “once per turn” restriction only applies to that card. Now, take a look at the new text for Sangan: “You can only use this effect of "Sangan" once per turn.”. This appears at the end of the effect in a completely separate sentence referring to the previous one. When an effect is worded like this, it applies to all cards named Sangan, so no matter how many times you can send Sangan to the graveyard this turn, the effect will only activate the first time it's sent.

Michael writes…

Hey Joe,

I was in a situation at my locals where my opponent had one set monster and one set card. During my turn I tried to get rid of his monster with Majespecter Unicorn – Kirin's effect and he chained Soul Transition to send his set monster to draw two cards. I called the judge and said that he needed to target 1 Face-up monster, however he ruled in my opponent's favor quoting the rule about fusing with face-down monsters. Is this the case? ~ Thanks, Michael

Hello Michael!

*looks up Soul Transition Text* “Tribute 1 face-up Level 4 Normal Summoned/Set monster;”

*re-reads e-mail* he chained Soul Transition to send his set monster to draw two cards. // quoting the rule about fusing with face-down monsters

… ok, so you couldn't see that just now, but my brain just exploded. All over the coffee table. It wasn't pretty.

First: set monsters aren't face-up monsters. Source: rulebook.

Second: Soul Transition doesn't Fusion Summon. Source: text of Soul Transition lacking the word “Fusion” anywhere on it.

So while your judge was technically correct in assuming that you can use face-down monsters at Fusion Materials, this absolutely doesn't apply here. How can it? The text of Soul Transition is pretty clear as is: face-up Level 4 monster.

Now, excuse me while I have a quick aside about a thing.

*clears throat*

Ok, I get that the Yu-Gi-Oh! TCG has a whole bunch of rules that just aren't in the rulebook or properly spelled out anywhere. I totally understand that there are routinely rules disagreements on the competitive level because of these ambiguities.

But, sometimes, it's not ambiguous and the answer is literally right in front of one's face. This is one of those times.

Sometimes, the answer to a question is “because Yu-Gi-Oh.” You can't explain it, it's just how it is. But when the card literally says face-up, trying to finagle anything else out of the card text is at best overanalyzing and at worst being willfully ignorant of the words on the card.

Sometimes, it's just straight-forward. Stop trying to make things weird just because some other things are already weird.

… anyway. That was a rant, free of charge. You're welcome.

 Soul Transition
$4.40
$2.52
$1.37
Soul Transition95569
Set Secrets of Eternity
Number SECE-EN078
Type Trap
Monster Trap
Attribute TRAP 
Rarity Secret Rare
Card Text

If you control no Special Summoned monsters: Tribute 1 face-up Level 4 Normal Summoned/Set monster; draw 2 cards. You can only activate 1 "Soul Transition" per turn. You cannot Special Summon monsters the turn you activate this card.


Our Best Prices: [View ALL Prices]
Store Condition Qty Avail Price  
Cardmonstergamez 1st Edition - Lightly Played 1 $1.37
EvolutionGaming Inc Unlimited - Near Mint 1 $1.56
PhantasmGaming 1st Edition - Near Mint 1 $1.57
Plagues Payplace 1st Edition - Lightly Played 1 $1.79
CoreTCG Unlimited - Near Mint 14 $1.79
Through The Decades Unlimited - Near Mint 2 $1.88

Store.TCGplayer.com allows you to buy cards from any of our vendors, all at the same time, in a simple checkout experience. Shop, Compare & Save with TCGplayer.com! - [Store FAQ]

Last question!

Bryan B. writes…

Hi Judge Joe,

I was playing a game with a friend where I wanted to tribute two of his Metalfoes for my Lava Golem; he wanted to activate Fullmetalfoes Fusion so he wouldn't have two monsters to tribute. I made the argument that I'd already tributed them, but we're both wondering if that was correct since Fullmetalfoes Fusion is a Quick-Play Spell. ~ Thanks!

Hello Bryan!

The latest text of Lava Golem says “Must first be Special Summoned (from your hand) to your opponent's side of the field by Tributing 2 monsters they control.” The lack of colons and semi-colons tells us this use the chain, which means you just do it. Your opponent can negate the Summon with something like Solemn Strike but the monsters are still tributed regardless of what happens to Lava Golem.

The only way to play around Lava Golem is to do so proactively. They would need to activate Fullmetalfoes Fusion before the game reaches an open game state in your Main Phase. (Read about open game states and Fast Effect rules here.) Once you reach an open game state, you may take any action you can normally take in that Phase, including Summoning Lava Golem, at which point it's too late to activate Fullmetalfoes Fusion.

And that's it for this week's Court of Appeals! If you have a question about card interactions, game mechanics or tournament policy, send me an e-mail (one question per e-mail please!) to askjudgejoe@gmail.com and your question could be answered in a future Court of Appeals!

Court is adjourned

-Joe Frankino


Joe is a Yu-Gi-Oh! judge and player from Long Island, New York. He writes non-TCG things at http://crazdgamer.com and he streams video game things at http://twitch.tv/crazdgamer. He's playing Yu-Gi-Oh! Legacy of the Duelist because he just can't get enough card games apparently.


Join our Newsletters

Subscribe to get the latest information on your favorite games.

Subscribe

All original content herein is Copyright 2016 Ascension Gaming Network, Inc. TCGplayer® and MaxPoint® are trademarks of Ascension Gaming Network, Inc.
No portion of this web site may be used without expressed written consent. All rights reserved.
Magic the Gathering and its respective properties are copyright Wizards of the Coast
Privacy Policy  |  Terms of Service