Black and White: Raging Tempest

Joe Frankino

2/15/2017 11:00:00 AM
 Comments

Almost as quickly as Invasion: Vengeance came on the scene, we've already had three months of dueling and are now in the Zoodiac era! With a hundred new cards available, let's run down some frequently asked questions and clear up a few things about the cards in Raging Tempest.

First, before getting into the new material, there's a quick aside about a very old card: the trap Null and Void has been renamed to “Muko:. That means it doesn't work with spell and trap cards that have “Void” in their names, which were made to work specifically with the Infernoids.

You can see this article on Konami's Strategy Site for more information.

Now then: let's get started!

Effect Monsters And The Sneak Peek Promo
Fusion Recycling Plant's End Phase effect works during either End Phase as long as you met the activation condition of using a monster as a Fusion Material for a Fusion Summon this turn. If you can manage a Fusion Summon on your opponent's turn, using Fusion Parasite for example, you can use Fusion Recycling Plant during your opponent's turn.

Dragoncaller Magician has a bullet-pointed monster effect that's given to any monster that Dragoncaller was used as a Material for. Dragoncaller Magician itself doesn't have that effect, so it won't gain ATK if it attacks a Dragon.

Performapal Laugh Maker's first effect has the “you can make” phrase. Our understanding of that phrase is still not entirely clear, but it generally means that this ATK increase isn't considered by a card effect. That won't affect gameplay too much, but could come up in some odd circumstances, so be aware that it's here just in case someone plays a card that says something is “unaffected by card effects,” because Performapal Laugh Maker will still gain ATK anyway.

Fusion Parasite's Fusion Summon effect is an “if” trigger, so it can activate in a new chain even if it's Special Summoned in the middle of another chain.

It's very easy to overlook, but Cyber Tutubon can Tribute monsters from your hand or field to Special Summon it, meaning you can use Cyber Angel Benten as a Tribute from your hand and activate its effect.

 Zoodiac Ratpier
$3.00
$0.34
$0.10
Zoodiac Ratpier127265
Set Raging Tempest
Number RATE-EN014
Level 4
Type Effect Monster
Monster Beast-Warrior
Attribute EARTH 
Rarity Super Rare
Card Text

If this card is Normal Summoned: You can send 1 "Zoodiac" card from your Deck to your Graveyard. An Xyz Monster whose original Type is Beast-Warrior and has this card as Xyz Material gains this effect.
- Once per turn: You can detach 1 Xyz Material from this card; Special Summon 1 "Zoodiac Ratpier" from your hand or Deck.


Our Best Prices: [View ALL Prices]
Store Condition Qty Avail Price  
ToonTown Games 1st Edition - Near Mint 1 $0.10
IDeal808 1st Edition - Near Mint 19 $0.10
IDeal808 Unlimited - Near Mint 72 $0.10
GameFuzion 1st Edition - Lightly Played 1 $0.11
XFMSports Unlimited - Lightly Played 1 $0.13
XFMSports 1st Edition - Lightly Played 1 $0.13

Store.TCGplayer.com allows you to buy cards from any of our vendors, all at the same time, in a simple checkout experience. Shop, Compare & Save with TCGplayer.com! - [Store FAQ]

All of the Zoodiac effect monsters give a Xyz Monster whose original type is Beast-Warrior an additional effect. The effect monsters themselves don't have those effects, they only give those abilities to Xyz Monsters.

Zoodiac Ratpier gives an Xyz Monster an effect. The effect itself is a “Once per turn” effect, not a “you can only use this effect once per turn”, so if you have multiple Xyz Monsters with Zoodiac Ratpiers attached to each one, you can use the effect once for each – assuming you have a Ratpier in the deck you can Summon, of course.

Envoy of Chaos targets a “Black Luster Soldier” monster or a “Gaia the Fierce Knight” monster. This phrasing is shorthand for “Monster with ‘Black Luster Soldier' in its name”, so the Ritual version of Black Luster Soldier and the Black Luster Soldier – Envoy of the Beginning both count as valid targets (and the same goes for Gaia The Fierce Knight).

Since it's been a while since Ritual Beasts were seen in tournament play, now's a good time to remind everyone that Spiritual Beast Tamers contain the “ritual beast” text in their names, so the new Spiritual Beast Tamer Winda counts as one.

If you shuffle cards in your hand back into your deck to Special Summon Tierra, Source of Destruction, reveal them to your opponent before placing them into the deck.

Miscellaneousaurus's first effect has the same activation timing as PSY-Framelord Omega: during either player's Main Phase. Keep in mind that when entering a new Phase or Step, the turn player has the first chance to take any action they can normally take during that Phase or Step. If you control Miscellaneousaurus during your opponent's turn, you must allow them to take the first action when entering the Main Phase, or you must wait for them to pass on taking an action which allows you to activate Miscellaneousaurus's effect. See the Fast Effect rules page for more info.

Apprentice Piper is better than you think it is.

Hebo, Lord of the River can target any face-up monster on the field, including Xyz, Synchro and Fusion Monsters. Those monsters will go back to the Extra Deck during the End Phase.

Yokotuner's ability doesn't use the word target because it doesn't target.

Eater of Millions gains ATK for each face-down banished card, both yours and your opponent's.

Because Wightprincess's Normal Summon effect says “Wightprince” and not “'Wightprince”' monster, it must send a monster specifically names “Wightprince” to the graveyard for its Normal Summon effect, just in case you were thinking about sending Wightprincess because her name contains the word “Wightprince” within it. Sorry, doesn't work like that!

Likewise, Metrognome can target a card in any Pendulum Zone, not just your own.

If there are two or more Fairy Tail – Rella's on the field, each one will prevent the others from being targeted by Spell Cards or effects, resulting in an effective lock on any Spell targeting effects. However, that that doesn't prevent the second effect – the one that equips an Equip Spell from the deck - from being used.

If you can prevent Cyber Angel Natasha from being Special Summoned from the graveyard by its own effect, you'll also prevent the targeted monster from switching sides.

 Shinobaroness Peacock
$1.22
$0.21
$0.07
Shinobaroness Peacock127291
Set Raging Tempest
Number RATE-EN037
Level 8
Type Ritual/ Spirit/ Effect Monster
Monster Winged Beast
Attribute WIND 
A / D 2500 / 3000
Rarity Rare
Card Text

You can Ritual Summon this card with "Shinobird's Calling". Must be Ritual Summoned, and cannot be Special Summoned by other ways. If this card is Ritual Summoned: You can shuffle up to 3 Spell/Trap Cards your opponent controls into the Deck, then you can Special Summon 1 Level 4 or lower Spirit monster from your Deck, ignoring its Summoning conditions. Once per turn, during the End Phase, if this card was Special Summoned this turn: Return it to the hand, and if you do, Special Summon 2 "Shinobird Tokens" (Winged Beast-Type/WIND/Level 4/ATK 1500/DEF 1500).


Our Best Prices: [View ALL Prices]
Store Condition Qty Avail Price  
Riddlers TCG 1st Edition - Near Mint 1 $0.07
Squires Singles 1st Edition - Near Mint 1 $0.07
Squires Singles Unlimited - Near Mint 2 $0.08
RainyPanda Games 1st Edition - Near Mint 1 $0.08
BGC Cards Unlimited - Near Mint 1 $0.08
CardsByERS Unlimited - Near Mint 2 $0.10

Store.TCGplayer.com allows you to buy cards from any of our vendors, all at the same time, in a simple checkout experience. Shop, Compare & Save with TCGplayer.com! - [Store FAQ]

Shinobaroness Peacock and Shinobaron Peacock are the first Ritual Spirit Monsters. They behave almost exactly like regular Spirit Monsters: they'll bounce back to your hand during the End Phase of the turn they're Summoned, but notice the lack of “or flipped face-up”. If you can set either of these monsters face-down with a card effect before their End Phase effect activates, you can keep them on the field indefinitely.

Odd-Eyes Raging Dragon doesn't need to keep an Xyz Monster as an Xyz Material in order to use its effects, it just needs to use an Xyz Monster as an Xyz Material.

All of the Zoodiac Xyz Monsters have “?” ATK and DEF. These values are undefined until they're face-up on the field. While in the Extra Deck, their ATK and DEF are unknown. I've had a number of players and judges ask me about the interaction with Power Filter. For anyone looking for a simple counter tp the strategy, Power Filter unfortunately won't stop the Zoodiac Xyz Summons since an unknown value is neither more than less than 1000.

Spells and Traps
Zodiac Sign is cleverly worded to not be a Zoodiac card.

You activate a Zoodiac Barrage and target itself and still have it resolve fully. However, it won't resolve if it's removed from the field before its chain link resolves. Likewise, if you destroy Zoodiac Barrage with its own effect, you can activate the graveyard effect in a new chain.

Shinobird Calling specifically mentions Shinobird Baron and Shinobird Baroness, making Pre-Preparation of Rites a good pick for this strategy. The same can't be said for Super Soldier Synthesis which can Summon any monster with “Black Luster Soldier” in its name, which doesn't match the requirements for Pre-Preparation of Rites.

Super Quantal Alphan Strike forces your opponent to Special Summon a monster from the Extra Deck. This is mandatory.

You can target the Ritual Beast you banish to pay for the cost of Ritual Beast Return as long as there was a valid target in your graveyard or banished before you activated Ritual Beast Return.

For the full Duel Terminal / Duel Links experience, activate Terminal World NEXT alongside Terminal World. Granted, that would leave you with only one vacant Spell & Trap Zone, but I'm not gonna tell you how to live your life.

If Ancient Gear Reborn leaves the field, nothing happens to the monster Special Summoned by its effect.

Usually, you can flip a continuous trap card face-up and use its effect in the same chain link if the activation conditions are correct. However, Shinobird Salvation has a stricter requirement; it needs to be face-up when a face-up Spirit monster you control returns to the hand, so you'll need to activate the trap itself before you can use its effect later on.

You can choose three copies of the same card with Beginning of Heaven and Earth to guarantee a successful random pick.

Purushaddoll Aeon contains “Shaddoll” in its name, making it a valid target for all of the El Shaddoll effects that bring a Shaddoll Spell/Trap from your graveyard back to your hand.

There's no colon in Switcheroroo's text, which means you need to have the same number of monsters as your opponent when you activate the trap and when it resolves in order for the mass switch to happen. It also doesn't matter if the number ends up being different than when you activated it. So if you activated Switcheroroo when you each controlled three monsters, and both you and your opponent chain Compulsory Evacuation Device on different monsters so the total is now two and two, the switch still happens.

World Premiere and OCG Imports
Even if your non-English copy of Sea Monster of Theseus doesn't have the words “Fusion” and “Tuner” on them, Sea Monster of Theseus is still a Fusion and a Tuner. Play the card as it appears in the database.

SPYRAL MISSION – Recapture's control switching effect can be activated during either player's turn as long as the activation condition - Special Summoning a SPYRAL Monster to your field - is met.

Rocket Hand's effect to send itself to the graveyard can be activated at any time you could activate a Normal Trap Card's effect.

Mekanikal Arkfiend is cleverly worded to neither be an archfiend nor mechanical.

Lightsworn Judgment's normal effect – the one that is used when it's set on the field and activated – puts it on top of the deck when it resolves. When it's sent to the graveyard by a Lightsworn monster's effect, you can activate the graveyard ability. If you send Lightsworn Judgment to the graveyard through Celestia, Lightsworn Angel's cost, Lightsworn Judgment can't activate later since the activation condition wasn't met.

If you have any questions about the cards from Raging Tempest, other card interactions, game mekaniks or tournament policy, you can send an e-mail (one question per e-mail please!) to askjudgejoe@gmail.com and your question could be answered in a future edition of Court of Appeals!

-Joe Frankino


Joe is a Yu-Gi-Oh! judge and player from Long Island, New York. He streams on occasion at http://twitch.tv/crazdgamer and he writes on occasion at http://crazdgamer.com. He also randomly breaks into song on occasion, but we don't talk about that.


Join our Newsletters

Subscribe to get the latest information on your favorite games.

Subscribe

All original content herein is Copyright 2016 Ascension Gaming Network, Inc. TCGplayer® and MaxPoint® are trademarks of Ascension Gaming Network, Inc.
No portion of this web site may be used without expressed written consent. All rights reserved.
Magic the Gathering and its respective properties are copyright Wizards of the Coast
Privacy Policy  |  Terms of Service