Court of Appeals: February 23 2017

Joe Frankino

2/23/2017 11:00:00 AM
 Comments

All rise!

Hello duelists, and welcome back to Court of Appeals! Every two weeks I'll answer your questions about card interactions, game mechanics and tournament policy submitted to askjudgejoe@gmail.com. I get quite a few submissions, and I most likely can't get to them all. To improve your chances of your e-mail making it to the column, please follow these ground rules...

-I will not answer new questions in the article Comments. If you have a related follow-up question to a question I answer here, you can ask it in the Comments and I will answer it in a reply.

-Please ask only one question per e-mail. Grammar and clarity helps, too.

-I will credit you with how you sign off on your e-mail. If you don't include a name in your signature, I will use your name as it appears in the e-mail's name field with your last initial.

-All answers I give are unofficial unless backed up by an official source.

-I'll be using official game terms whenever possible. If I use jargon (even jargon that is perceived to be universally accepted), I'll note that it's jargon.

-I'll note sources whenever possible.

-I'll always use the official card database as my card text reference. You can find the official card database here: http://www.db.yugioh-card.com/yugiohdb/

-I will not answer any questions about cards not released in the TCG.

Please be seated.

Steve writes…

Hey Joe,

I ran into an odd situation with Breakthrough Skill, Metalfoes Mithrilium, and Fullmetalfoes Fusion. I started with Metalfoes Mithrilium's effect, targeting two Metalfoes in my graveyard to send my opponent's monster to their hand. They chained a Breakthrough Skill to negate Metalfoes Mithrilium, then I chain Fullmetalfoes Fusion, using the Metalfoes Mithrilium and another card to summon a second Metalfoes Mithrilium.

Does Breakthrough Skill negate the first Metalfoes Mithrilium's effect, the send cards back to the deck/hand effect? Or does it resolve, since it is no longer on the field for Breakthrough Skill to resolve against? ~ Steve

Hello Steve!

The answer to this question lies in the resolution text of Breakthrough Skill: “that face-up monster your opponent controls has its effects negated until the end of this turn.” If the monster is no longer face-up when Breakthrough Skill resolves, Breakthrough Skill won't negate its effects. Metalfoes Mithrilium will resolve properly.

 Metalfoes Mithrilium
$14.25
$1.10
$0.56
Metalfoes Mithrilium124738
Set Invasion: Vengeance
Number INOV-EN040
Level 6
Type Fusion/Effect Monster
Monster Psychic
Attribute FIRE 
A / D 2600 / 1000
Rarity Ultra Rare
Card Text

1 "Metalfoes" monster + 1 Pendulum Monster
You can target 2 "Metalfoes" cards in your Graveyard and 1 card on the field; shuffle the targets from your Graveyard into the Deck, and if you do, return the target on the field to the hand. You can only use this effect of "Metalfoes Mithrilium" once per turn. If this card is sent from the field to the Graveyard: You can Special Summon 1 "Metalfoes" Pendulum Monster from your Graveyard or face-up from your Extra Deck.


Our Best Prices: [View ALL Prices]
Store Condition Qty Avail Price  
Game Haven St George Unlimited - Near Mint 1 $0.32
Pro-PlayGames Unlimited - Lightly Played 1 $0.45
BetaTCG 2 1st Edition - Lightly Played 2 $0.56
SKYAThatOneGuy 1st Edition - Near Mint 1 $0.56
No Limit Gaming Unlimited - Near Mint 7 $0.56
BetaTCG 2 1st Edition - Near Mint 1 $0.57

Store.TCGplayer.com allows you to buy cards from any of our vendors, all at the same time, in a simple checkout experience. Shop, Compare & Save with TCGplayer.com! - [Store FAQ]

Thomas writes…

Hi Joe. I'm at my locals today and the judge advised me to contact you for a ruling. Please respond as soon as you can if possible. (Joe: Will address this after I answer your question.) Can you send Quickdraw Synchron to the grave for the effect to lower the level of Accel Synchron? I appreciate your time. ~ Thomas

Hello Thomas.

You can't activate the reduction effect if you send a Level 5 or higher monster, as your follow-up e-mail theorized.

… now that I've answered your question, you can tell your local judge that the next time he or she wants to tell his or her players to contact me and it's not via askjudgejoe@gmail.com, I'll start charging $10 a question. I'm bloody serious on this. I've had to make a public post some months ago on Facebook saying that I no longer answer ruling questions via Facebook private messages because it eats up too much of my time for literally no return.

For the previous 9 years I was too nice to ignore messages sent at 3am my time from people I've never met before, but at this point I value my time over other people's. The time I dedicate to the game is the time I spend writing for this site, writing for Konami's Strategy Site, writing for Konami event coverage and judging tournaments that I volunteer for, and I'm compensated for my time and services for all of those. Answering individual rules questions on social media for no tangible compensation besides the potential for answering more questions for free is unreasonable and I simply won't have it.

Adrian Q. writes…

Hello judge!

I really like your articles and I have found them very useful for solving ruling issues, especially with new cards. My question is more related to player behavior than game mechanics or ruling.

It's known that some people have skills in card handling, enough to manipulate the order of some cards in their own decks as well as their opponent's while shuffling, in order to get an advantage. These days, there has been an argument at my local scene, where some people say that, after activating effects that allow adding cards, their opponent cannot shuffle their decks, only cut it, and even between matches, shuffling their deck by the opponent is not officially allowed (by shuffling I mean full deck randomization, like just piling cards at random in several groups).

I'd like to know what the official Konami ruling is about this kind of situation, if there is one? And also, how do you handle this situation when it occurs in an official tournament? Thank you very much for your attention, I appreciate your help in this matter. ~ Regards, Adrian Q.

Hello Adrian!

Konami's Tournament Policy – which you can find on this page – says that technically, the players shuffles their deck first, then the opponent, then the owner cuts the deck, followed by the opponent cutting the deck. I've seen players typically either ignore the double-cut and just go for the double-shuffle, or go with a more conventional shuffle-then-cut. In either case, the opponent's always the last person to touch the deck before it's considered randomized.

Caroline writes…

Hi Judge Joe,

I have a question concerning the negation of an effect multiple times.

As far as I'm aware, you can't activate an effect to negate an effect that's already being negated. For example, if Skill Drain is active you can't activate Effect Veiler's ability, because any target already has its effect negated (unless it's somehow unaffected by Skill Drain).

But what if Effect Veiler's ability is activated, and something else is chained that negates it in turn? For example, if I Summon Rescue Rabbit and my opponent immediately uses Effect Veiler on it, if I Chain Fiendish Chain to negate Rescue Rabbit's effect, when Effect Veiler's effect resolves, will it resolve as normal (thus negating Rescue Rabbit's effect even when it banishes itself) or will it resolve without effect (as Rescue Rabbit's effect is already being negated)?

I realize this is a rather long question, but I hope you can answer it. ~ Thanks, Caroline

Hello Caroline!

This is a tricky question that I've seen asked at various points in the last five-or-so years. As I understand it, the chain of Effect Veiler and Fiendish Chain will resolve normally. That is, each effect will resolve properly and apply its own flavor of negation to the target. Meaning Rescue Rabbit will be negated by Effect Veiler's more-effective version of negation. I don't have a resource to back me up on that, but that's how I'd rule it if the situation was presented to me.

 Effect Veiler
$7.50
$2.06
$1.32
Effect Veiler93851
Set Legendary Collection 5D's
Number LC5D-EN018
Level 1
Type Tuner Monster
Monster Spellcaster
Attribute LIGHT 
Rarity Common
Card Text

During your opponent's Main Phase, you can send this card from your hand to the Graveyard to select 1 face-up Effect Monster your opponent controls. Negate the effect(s) of that monster until the End Phase.


Our Best Prices: [View ALL Prices]
Store Condition Qty Avail Price  
SuperGamesInc 1st Edition - Moderately Played 1 $1.08
Alter Reality Games 1st Edition - Moderately Played 1 $1.11
Apex Cards 1st Edition - Lightly Played 1 $1.32
SuperGamesInc 1st Edition - Lightly Played 1 $1.32
Cardmonstergamez 1st Edition - Lightly Played 4 $1.32
GameTimeCC 1st Edition - Moderately Played 3 $1.33

Store.TCGplayer.com allows you to buy cards from any of our vendors, all at the same time, in a simple checkout experience. Shop, Compare & Save with TCGplayer.com! - [Store FAQ]

Earl writes…

Regarding Black & White's posting on February 15:

"Performapal Laugh Maker's first effect has the “you can make” phrase. Our understanding of that phrase is still not entirely clear, but it generally means that this ATK increase isn't considered by a card effect."

This would be incorrect - while it's true that cards like Towers and Share the Pain involve forcing a player to do something without that forced action being considered done "by a card effect", that's not true in all presently-existing cases of ATK/DEF/Level/Rank/Type/Attribute alteration worldwide, in all territories.

Hello Earl!

The words “you can make” certainly threw me off because of how they appeared in this context. It also appears on Destiny HERO – Dynatag, Abyss Actor – Funky Comedian and a few other recent cards. I'm now wondering if this is simply a new method of phrasing for card effects. I'll hold off on assuming what this means going forward.

Last question!

Loukas writes…

Hey Joe "My Best Friend Forever" Frankino,

I have an interesting question about Double Summon. I know we've seen a lot of Double Summon-like effects like Gem-Knight Seraphinite and Constellar Pollux, but the ol' razzle dazzle is the actual Spell.

Seeing as Double Summon isn't Limited yet (it's heckin' broken!), how many Summons would you get for playing multiple Double Summons? The first Double Summon actually doubles your Normal Summons, giving you two, so does the second Double Summon give you four or three Normal Summons? As in, does it double each summon or just the first Normal Summon?

And when you play a third Double Summon, would you get three, four, five, six, or eight Normal Summons? Please help!

Love,

Loukas

P.S. Please be my valentine.

Hello Loukas!

Double Summon changes the number of Normal Summons you're allowed to make per turn from 1 to 2. It doesn't allow you to double the amount of Summons you can perform. Also, Breaker the Magical Warrior isn't a Warrior. Shocking, I know.

And that's it for this week's Court of Appeals! If you have any questions about card interactions, game mechanics or tournament policy, you can send an e-mail (one question per e-mail please!) to askjudgejoe@gmail.com and your question could be answered in a future edition of Court of Appeals!

-Joe Frankino


Joe is a Yu-Gi-Oh! judge and player from Long Island, New York. He streams on occasion at http://twitch.tv/crazdgamer and he writes on occasion at http://crazdgamer.com.

(P.S. No, Loukas.)


Join our Newsletters

Subscribe to get the latest information on your favorite games.

Subscribe

All original content herein is Copyright 2016 Ascension Gaming Network, Inc. TCGplayer® and MaxPoint® are trademarks of Ascension Gaming Network, Inc.
No portion of this web site may be used without expressed written consent. All rights reserved.
Magic the Gathering and its respective properties are copyright Wizards of the Coast
Privacy Policy  |  Terms of Service