Court of Appeals: March 8th 2017

Joe Frankino

3/9/2017 11:00:00 AM
 Comments

All rise!

Hello duelists, and welcome back to Court of Appeals! Every two weeks I'll answer your questions about card interactions, game mechanics and tournament policy submitted to askjudgejoe@gmail.com. I get quite a few submissions, and I most likely can't get to them all. To improve your chances of your e-mail making it to the column, please follow these ground rules...

-I will not answer new questions in the article Comments. If you have a related follow-up question to a question I answer here, you can ask it in the Comments and I will answer it in a reply.

-Please ask only one question per e-mail. Grammar and clarity helps, too.

-I will credit you with how you sign off on your e-mail. If you don't include a name in your signature, I will use your name as it appears in the e-mail's name field with your last initial.

-All answers I give are unofficial unless backed up by an official source.

-I'll be using official game terms whenever possible. If I use jargon (even jargon that is perceived to be universally accepted), I'll note that it's jargon.

-I'll note sources whenever possible.

-I'll always use the official card database as my card text reference. You can find the official card database here: http://www.db.yugioh-card.com/yugiohdb/

-I will not answer any questions about cards not released in the TCG.

Please be seated.

Andrew V. writes…

Afternoon, Judge Joe. I'm afraid I've got another question. This time it has to do with Dinosaurs, or more specifically, Miscellaneousaurus.

I'm a little confused about the protection it gives. It offers protection during either player's Main Phase when it's sent to the graveyard, but only against activated effects. So it wouldn't interrupt something like a Skill Drain that was already activated, and a card like Solemn Warning would still negate the summon, since you don't technically control the card at that point.

But would it stop a Solemn Strike assuming that the strike was chained to an effect and not the summon itself? And if I pitch it before I have any monsters on my field, would the monsters I Summon, during that Main Phase, get the protection from it?

Let's say I'm playing a Dino Ninja deck (Don't ask), and I throw Miscellaneousaurus before activating Ninjutsu Art of Super Transformation to Summon a Super Conductor Tyranno. Assuming they don't negate the summon, could they negate the effect of it, or would they be able to destroy it using something like Zoodiac Drident? Thanks for any help you can give! - Andrew V.

Hello Andrew!

The first effect of Miscellaneousaurus doesn't use the phrase “currently control” so it will protect any Dinosaurs Summoned after its effect resolves. Likewise, it will protect your Dinosaurs from Solemn Strike if chained to any of their monster effects, but like you guessed, your Dinosaur monster Summons can still be negated by the Solemn brigade since you don't control monsters you're attempting to Summon.

 Solemn Strike
$39.99
$17.97
$16.87
Solemn Strike111178
Set Breakers of Shadow
Number BOSH-EN079
Type Trap Card
Attribute TRAP 
Rarity Secret Rare
Card Text

When a monster(s) would be Special Summoned, or a monster effect is activated: Pay 1500 LP; negate the Summon or activation, and if you do, destroy that card.


Our Best Prices: [View ALL Prices]
Store Condition Qty Avail Price  
TradingCardBazaar Unlimited - Near Mint 1 $16.19
One Up TCG 1st Edition - Near Mint 3 $16.87
MatixCollectables 1st Edition - Near Mint 1 $16.97
Lucky's Card Shop 1st Edition - Lightly Played 2 $17.00
ShenanigansTCG Unlimited - Near Mint 1 $17.00
ShenanigansTCG 1st Edition - Near Mint 2 $17.00

Store.TCGplayer.com allows you to buy cards from any of our vendors, all at the same time, in a simple checkout experience. Shop, Compare & Save with TCGplayer.com! - [Store FAQ]

Justin writes…

Hi Judge Joe,

This is going to be an easy question, I just can't seem to find the answer anywhere. Kozmo Landwalker is on the field with Kozmotown face-up, and my opponent activates Twin Twisters targeting one of my random backrow cards and Kozmotown. If I choose to protect town, changing the target to Landwalker, does the random backrow card still get destroyed? I'm assuming yes, but I'm looking for clarification. Thanks!

Hello Justin!

To clarify a minor point: Kozmo Landwalker doesn't become a target for Twin Twisters, it simply substitutes itself for destruction in place of another Kozmo card. A small nit-pick, but one I needed to point out.

Anyway: as you suspected, you can only use Kozmo Landwalker to prevent other Kozmo cards from being destroyed. That random face-down card will still be destroyed.

Josh writes…

Hello Joe. I recently read your Black and White article covering cards from Raging Tempest when I came across Super Quantal Alphan Spike. I use to play Super Quantals because who doesn't like Power Rangers.

The card states that your opponent can special from their Extra Deck after the cards are shuffled. Can you activate Super Quantal Alphan Spike if there were something preventing Special Summons? Is this a case of “can't activate if I can't fully resolve the effect”? I look forward to reading your response.

Hello Josh!

You can't choose to activate an effect that can't fully resolve. If your opponent can't Special Summon a monster from their Extra Deck, you can't activate Super Quantal Alphan Spike.

Travis Q. writes…

Hello Judge Joe!

Always enjoy your articles! My question today is about Delta The Magnet Warrior. Do you have to use its ability to Special Summon Valkyrion the Magna Warrior the turn he is sent to the graveyard or can you wait and use it when you have three or more Magnet and/or Electromagnet Warriors in your graveyard? Also, can you use this effect on either player's turn? Thanks!

Hello Travis!

“If this card is sent to the Graveyard:” is the activation condition for the effect you're referring to. That wording means the ability activates immediately after the card is sent to the graveyard, or after the current chain resolves if it was sent in the middle of a resolving chain.

If the effect was meant to activate later in the turn or at any time, it would say something like “during the turn this card was sent to the graveyard:” or “if this card is in your graveyard:” Luckily, if you meet the condition during either player's turn, you can activate the effect.

 Delta The Magnet Warrior
$1.40
$0.42
$0.12
Delta The Magnet Warrior127353
Set Raging Tempest
Number RATE-EN097
Level 4
Type Effect Monster
Monster Rock
Attribute EARTH 
A / D 1600 / 1400
Rarity Super Rare
Card Text

If this card is Normal or Special Summoned: You can send 1 Level 4 or lower "Magnet Warrior" monster from your Deck to the Graveyard. If this card is sent to the Graveyard: You can banish 3 Level 4 or lower "Magnet Warrior" monsters from your Graveyard, except "Delta The Magnet Warrior"; Special Summon 1 "Valkyrion the Magna Warrior" from your hand or Deck, ignoring its Summoning conditions. You can only use each effect of "Delta The Magnet Warrior" once per turn.


Our Best Prices: [View ALL Prices]
Store Condition Qty Avail Price  
Kirwan's Game Store Unlimited - Near Mint 1 $0.10
Kirwan's Game Store 1st Edition - Near Mint 12 $0.12
IDeal808 1st Edition - Near Mint 17 $0.12
IDeal808 Unlimited - Near Mint 77 $0.12
Buis Card Place 1st Edition - Near Mint 1 $0.14
XFMSports Unlimited - Lightly Played 1 $0.14

Store.TCGplayer.com allows you to buy cards from any of our vendors, all at the same time, in a simple checkout experience. Shop, Compare & Save with TCGplayer.com! - [Store FAQ]

Adriaan writes…

Hello,

Black Garden doesn't see much play these days, and I was wondering about its interaction with the Zoodiac cards, specifically the Xyz Monster's continuous effects. In the past I know there have been similar rulings like Gale the Whirlwind versus Tragoedia, but I'm not completely sure if this would be the same.

Say I have Black Garden face-up on the field and during my opponent's turn they Xyz Summon Zoodiac Drident using only a Zoodiac Thoroughblade as its Xyz Material. Zoodiac Drident's continuous effect applies and its ATK becomes 1600, Black Garden's effect triggers in response to the Summon and resolves halving the ATK of Zoodiac Drident to 800 while summoning a Rose Token to my side of the field.

If my opponent then attaches a Zoodiac Whiptail from their hand to the Zoodiac Drident, would its ATK increase, or would Black Garden's effect lock in Zoodiac Drident's ATK value until another card's effect changes it besides its own continuous effect. If Whiptail does increase its ATK, will it be at 2000?Thanks for the help ~ Adriaan

Hello Adriaan!

Additional Xyz Materials being added to a Zoodiac Xyz will modify its ATK as normal. In your example, Zoodiac Drident will gain the 1200 ATK from Zoodiac Whiptail and increase to 2000 ATK.

Gabe writes…

Hey Judge Joe,

With the new Link Summon mechanic there are a lot of questions I have about columns, namely this: When I Kaiju an opponents' monster does that Kaiju have to go to the same column as that monster? And if not, am I (the player summoning the kaiju to my opponents field) able to select which zone the kaiju ends up in?

Thank you so much for all you do - Gabe K.

Hello Gabe!

Unfortunately, I'm as much in the dark regarding the upcoming Summoning method and restrictions as everybody else. Likewise, I'm sure this is just one type of question that's going to come up a lot in the next few months leading up to the debut of the new mechanic. So I don't have the answer for this question yet, but stay tuned as Konami releases info outside of Japan and we can digest everything together!

Adam R. writes…

Hello, Judge Joe,

Thank you again for doing this column every two weeks. It's always interesting to see what interactions have stumped other players and every time, I gain a better understanding of the game in general.

Anyway, what stumped my friend and I last time we were hanging out was an interaction between Elemental Hero Absolute Zero and Madolche Queen Tiaramisu. Long story short, my friend's only card was Absolute Zero and on my turn I did the standard Madolche combo to end with Tiaramisu and Leviair the Sea Dragon. I used Tiaramisu's effect to shuffle a Madolche card in my graveyard and my friend's Absolute Zero back into their respective decks.

This is where my friend and I weren't sure what would happen. He pointed out that Absolute Zero's mandatory effect destroys all monsters I control when it leaves the field but he wasn't sure that effect would activate if it was returned to his Extra Deck since the card is no longer in a place where I can review the card text and is no longer recognized by the game.

His point made a lot of sense, and I have a feeling he's right, but I'm not sure, since I know cards like Guiding Ariadne will activate face-up in the extra deck. Ultimately, I destroyed my Tiaramisu and Leviair so we could enjoy a longer game, but this is one of the most perplexing questions I've encountered in a while and was hoping you could shed light on what should have happened. ~ Have a great day, Adam R.

Hello Adam!

Elemental HERO Absolute Zero can activate when it's returned to the Extra Deck via a card effect. Returning to the Extra Deck fits one of the criteria for activating “leaves the field” effects. You can check out more about “leaves the field” in the rulebook.

 Elemental HERO Absolute Zero
$7.43
$3.67
$2.51
Elemental HERO Absolute Zero60104
Set Generation Force SE
Number GENF-ENSE1
Level 8
Type Fusion/Effect Monster
Monster Warrior
Attribute WATER 
A / D 2500 / 2000
Rarity Super Rare
Card Text

1 "HERO" monster + 1 WATER monster
Must be Fusion Summoned and cannot be Special Summoned by other ways. This card gains 500 ATK for each face-up WATER monster on the field, except "Elemental HERO Absolute Zero". When this card leaves the field: Destroy all monsters your opponent controls.


Our Best Prices: [View ALL Prices]
Store Condition Qty Avail Price  
Apex Cards Limited - Near Mint 3 $1.95
OverdoseGaming Limited - Near Mint 4 $1.96
Clarksons Limited - Near Mint 1 $1.97
Nebulous Gaming Limited - Lightly Played 7 $1.98
Davis Cards & Games Limited - Moderately Played 1 $2.00
Collector's Cache Limited - Heavily Played 2 $2.10

Store.TCGplayer.com allows you to buy cards from any of our vendors, all at the same time, in a simple checkout experience. Shop, Compare & Save with TCGplayer.com! - [Store FAQ]

Last question!

Cody writes…

Hello Judge Joe! Is it legal to banish a monster from your graveyard with Invocation to make Invoked Elysium? Say I have Invoked Raidjin on the field that was Special Summoned correctly. I also have M-X-Saber Invoker in my graveyard, which was properly Summoned. If I activate Invocation can I banish the in-grave Invoker and Raidjin on the field to summon Invoked Elysium? I've been told I can't due to how Book of Moon interacted with Shaddol Fusion, but I do not think that situation applies here. ~ Sincerely, Cody

Hello Cody!

This is a tricky question. I'll share my thoughts but I'm going to ask rules for a confirmation since I'm not terribly confident in the answer.

I ruled at a recent tournament I was the Head Judge for that monsters in the graveyard were not Summoned from the Extra Deck as they're no longer “Summoned monsters”. I'm going to ask rules for confirmation on that though.

And that's it for this week's Court of Appeals! If you have a question about card interactions, game mechanics or tournament policy, send me an e-mail (one question per e-mail please!) to askjudgejoe@gmail.com and your question could be answered in a future Court of Appeals!

Court is adjourned

-Joe Frankino


Joe is a Yu-Gi-Oh! judge and player from Long Island, New York. You can read his non-TCG writings over at http://crazdgamer.com and view his video-game related streams at http://twitch.tv/crazdgamer. He plays Yu-Gi-Oh! Legacy of the Duelist using only story decks because attacking into Mirror Force is apparently entertaining for viewers.


Join our Newsletters

Subscribe to get the latest information on your favorite games.

Subscribe

All original content herein is Copyright 2016 Ascension Gaming Network, Inc. TCGplayer® and MaxPoint® are trademarks of Ascension Gaming Network, Inc.
No portion of this web site may be used without expressed written consent. All rights reserved.
Magic the Gathering and its respective properties are copyright Wizards of the Coast
Privacy Policy  |  Terms of Service