Court of Appeals: March 23 2017

Joe Frankino

3/23/2017 11:00:00 AM
 Comments

All rise!

Hello duelists, and welcome back to Court of Appeals! Every two weeks I'll answer your questions about card interactions, game mechanics and tournament policy submitted to askjudgejoe@gmail.com. I get quite a few submissions, and I most likely can't get to them all. To improve your chances of your e-mail making it to the column, please follow these ground rules...

-I will not answer new questions in the article Comments. If you have a related follow-up question to a question I answer here, you can ask it in the Comments and I will answer it in a reply.

-Please ask only one question per e-mail. Grammar and clarity helps, too.

-I will credit you with how you sign off on your e-mail. If you don't include a name in your signature, I will use your name as it appears in the e-mail's name field with your last initial.

-All answers I give are unofficial unless backed up by an official source.

-I'll be using official game terms whenever possible. If I use jargon (even jargon that is perceived to be universally accepted), I'll note that it's jargon.

-I'll note sources whenever possible.

-I'll always use the official card database as my card text reference. You can find the official card database here: http://www.db.yugioh-card.com/yugiohdb/

-I will not answer any questions about cards not released in the TCG.

Please be seated.

Chris A. writes…

Hey Judge Joe! How're you?

Chris. A here and today my question is about Book of Eclipse versus Crystron Quariongandrax. If Player A activates Book of Eclipse and Player B uses an effect like the Crystron monsters' or Formula Synchron to Synchro Summon Crystron Quariongandrax as Chain Link 2, will Player B be able to activate the on-field effect of Crystron Quariongandrax after Book of Eclipse has resolved?

The summon was successful, we know that much, but the monster would be face down at the moment it would go to activate. This is what we're trying to figure out. Thanks ~ Chris. A!

Hello Chris!

As I currently understand game mechanics, monsters with “when Summoned” effects must be face-up on the field for their effects to be activated.

 Crystron Quariongandrax
$2.50
$0.69
$0.09
Crystron Quariongandrax127301
Set Raging Tempest
Number RATE-EN046
Level 9
Type Synchro/Effect Monster
Monster Machine
Attribute WATER 
A / D 3000 / 3000
Rarity Ultra Rare
Card Text

2 or more Tuners + 1 non-Tuner monster
If this card is Synchro Summoned: You can target monsters your opponent controls and/or in their Graveyard, up to the number of Synchro Materials used for the Synchro Summon of this card; banish them. If this Synchro Summoned card is destroyed by battle or card effect: You can target 1 banished monster, except this card; Special Summon it to your field.


Our Best Prices: [View ALL Prices]
Store Condition Qty Avail Price  
Pro-PlayGames 1st Edition - Lightly Played 1 $0.09
ChardarYuGiOh 1st Edition - Near Mint 3 $0.11
No Limit Gaming 1st Edition - Near Mint 1 $0.11
No Limit Gaming Unlimited - Near Mint 1 $0.11
IDeal808 1st Edition - Moderately Played 1 $0.12
TheCardWard 1st Edition - Near Mint 2 $0.20

Store.TCGplayer.com allows you to buy cards from any of our vendors, all at the same time, in a simple checkout experience. Shop, Compare & Save with TCGplayer.com! - [Store FAQ]

Billy H. writes…

Hello Judge Joe, how have you been? D/D/D Wave Oblivion King Caesar Ragnarok doesn't see much play, but it does come up every now and then. So I'm curious: if my opponent controls two monsters and Ragnarok attacks and activates its effect to equip one of them, would a replay occur now that the number of opposing monsters has changed?

Hello Billy!

Yes, a replay will occur. An important thing to note is that when a replay occurs, you're not declaring a new attack, you're only changing the attack target to something else, so you don't get a second effect activation from the replay.

Som K. writes…

Hi Joe. My question is about the interaction between Vanity's Emptiness and monster effects that Special Summon when they're destroyed. I wanted to get your input on a ruling I saw in an article from YGOrganization.

Vanity's Emptiness is face-up in my Spell & Trap Zone, and its effect prevents players from Special Summoning. In this situation, a Babycerasaurus on my field is destroyed by the effect of my opponent's Raigeki Break and the effect of Vanity's Emptiness will be chained to the monster effect of Petiranodon. When it resolves and the effect that stops players from Special Summoning is no longer applied, the effect of Petiranodon will resolve normally and Special Summon a Level 4 or higher Dinosaur-Type from the deck. (The linked example involved the upcoming Petiranodon, but I wanted to present a TCG version of the question.)

I always thought that while Vanity's Emptiness was face-up, neither player could even activate or attempt to Special Summon.

Hello Som!

This is a good question!

I often tell players and judges “you can't activate an effect whose mandatory effects can't resolve properly.”

What I should be saying is “you can't voluntarily activate an effect whose mandatory effects can't resolve properly.” In other words, you can't choose to activate Call Of The Haunted if Vanity's Emptiness is active. But, look at Petiranodon and Babycerasaurus: both of their abilities lack the words “you can.” These are both mandatory effects that must be activated if their activation condition is met. The only time a mandatory effect won't activate is if something else is outright preventing effect activations, like Soul Drain or if you want to go way back, Angel O7.

Mark P. writes…

Hi Joe, if I Summon Cyber Dragon and my opponent has ABC-Dragon Buster on their side of the field, I go to contact fuse for Chimeratech Fortress Dragon, my question is, if he tags out for A-Assault Core, B-Buster Drake and C-Crush Wyvern do I now get to contact fuse with them or does Cyber Dragon fizzle.

Thank you, Mark

Hello Mark!

The Special Summon of Chimeratech Fortress Dragon doesn't use the chain. When you Summon Cyber Dragon, you get the first chance to use Fast Effects, then your opponent gets the chance. Assuming you both pass, the game state becomes open and you get the chance to Special Summon Chimeratech Fortress Dragon which can't be interrupted with ABC-Dragon Buster's effects. Basically, your opponent is forced to choose between letting you have a 2000 ATK Chimeratech Fortress Dragon or a 4000 ATK Chimeratech Fortress Dragon.

 Chimeratech Fortress Dragon
$2.50
$0.89
$0.25
Chimeratech Fortress Dragon115842
Set Premium Gold: Infinite Gold
Number PGL3-EN057
Level 8
Type Fusion/Effect Monster
Monster Machine
Attribute DARK 
Rarity Gold Rare
Card Text

"Cyber Dragon" + 1 or more Machine-Type monsters
Cannot be used as a Fusion Material Monster. Must first be Special Summoned (from your Extra Deck) by sending the above cards from either side of the field to the Graveyard. (You do not use "Polymerization".) The original ATK of this card becomes 1000 x the number of Fusion Material Monsters used for its Special Summon.


Our Best Prices: [View ALL Prices]
Store Condition Qty Avail Price  
Buis Card Place 1st Edition - Near Mint 1 $0.25
Davis Cards & Games 1st Edition - Damaged 1 $0.25
Weird Realms 1st Edition - Near Mint 2 $0.31
The Gypsies Den 1st Edition - Near Mint 3 $0.32
BlackwingsSwarm 1st Edition - Near Mint 1 $0.35
YGO TCGCards 1st Edition - Near Mint 1 $0.43

Store.TCGplayer.com allows you to buy cards from any of our vendors, all at the same time, in a simple checkout experience. Shop, Compare & Save with TCGplayer.com! - [Store FAQ]

Steve writes…

Hey Joe, I thought of a combo where I activate Majespecter Unicorn - Kirin on my opponent's turn, target it and another monster, then chain Majespecter Tornado using the very same Majespecter Unicorn - Kirin as the tribute. I don't see any problem with it, but wanted a good second opinion before trying it out.

Thanks for the help -Steve

Hello Steve!

Since Kirin says “return them to the hand” and not “return both”, it will return as many of the targets as possible. The other target – your opponent's monster – will still return to their hand.

Matt D. writes…

Howdy Joe. Scenario: I Normal Summon my Mecha Phantom Beast Tetherwolf and generate a Mecha Phantom Beast Token, increasing the level of Tetherwolf to 7, and then I use Level Eater on my Tetherwolf, making it Level 6.

Next, my Token ends up being removed from the field, and my Tetherwolf loses its bonus levels. Does Tetherwolf end up becoming level 3, or does he return to being level 4 because an additional level by his effect was removed by Level Eater. Thanks Joe!

Hello Matt!

Mecha Phantom Beast Tetherwolf will be Level 3. This interaction follows the logic you think it would. (Shocking, I know!)

Tom L. writes…

Hi Judge Joe,

This weekend, I was following YCS Atlanta through the feature match coverage, and I recognized you as one of the judges during several of the matches. I'm a judge myself, and I hope to be able to judge a YCS someday soon too! I read your "Black and White" article on TCGplayer about judging a YCS, and it helped encourage me to apply to the upcoming YCS Pittsburgh!

On to my question. I've been thinking about the new card Magical Meltdown that was released in Fusion Enforcers and its wording, which states "The activation of your cards and effects that include an effect that Fusion Summons a Fusion Monster cannot be negated, also your opponent's cards and effects cannot activate when a monster is Fusion Summoned this way."

Suppose we have a situation where the turn player has Magical Meltdown on the field and, in an open game state, activates Invocation. Meanwhile the opponent has a card available that would negate the activation of Invocation, like Solemn Warning. Would responding to Invocation with Solemn Warning be a legal activation? I understand that regardless of the activation being legal or not, the activation of Invocation will not be negated. The issue comes down to whether the opponent can legally activate cards like Solemn Warning in response to Invocation (for no benefit).

After thinking about the effects on the field and my knowledge of the rules, I'm inclined to say that this is an illegal activation and that you can't respond to Invocation with Solemn Warning while Magical Meltdown's on the field. My rationale comes from other continuous effects that prevent actions from being taken, such as Imperial Iron Wall. While Iron Wall's active, cards that banish can't be activated, and neither can their effects. I'd then make the generalization that if a continuous effect is applying on the field that prevents a specific action, cards that would perform that action can't be activated.

I hope to hear back from you soon so I can get confirmation on my ruling, or so you can provide me with your understanding of this interaction that can help me strengthen my abilities as a judge!Thanks, Tom L

Hello Tom!

I'm inclined to agree with you; I don't think it's possible to activate Solemn Warning in a chain to Invocation when Magical Meltdown is active since negating cards that Fusion Summon is prevented.

 Invocation
$56.99
$39.95
$28.95
Invocation127826
Set Fusion Enforcers
Number FUEN-EN035
Type Normal Spell Card
Attribute SPELL 
Rarity Secret Rare
Card Text

Fusion Summon 1 Fusion Monster from your Extra Deck, using monsters from your hand as Fusion Materials. If Summoning an "Invoked" Fusion Monster this way, you can also banish monsters from your field and/or either player's Graveyard as Fusion Materials. If this card is in your Graveyard: You can target 1 of your banished "Aleister the Invoker"; shuffle this card into the Deck, and if you do, add that card to your hand. You can only use this effect of "Invocation" once per turn.


Our Best Prices: [View ALL Prices]
Store Condition Qty Avail Price  
Kemps Kollectables 1st Edition - Near Mint 1 $28.95
Jaeger Hobbies 1st Edition - Near Mint 1 $31.75
EliteYGO 1st Edition - Near Mint 1 $31.89
GadgetDragon 1st Edition - Lightly Played 1 $32.77
Yugioh Black Market 1st Edition - Near Mint 3 $33.00
EZPeasy 1st Edition - Near Mint 2 $34.01

Store.TCGplayer.com allows you to buy cards from any of our vendors, all at the same time, in a simple checkout experience. Shop, Compare & Save with TCGplayer.com! - [Store FAQ]

Last question!

Loukas writes…

Hello to my favorite and cutest judge! (Hint: you!),

I have a serious question about misprints, and there doesn't seem to be an official guide on them... more of a case by case situation. For example, I've seen a Naturia Beast that wasn't printed with the name Naturia Beast and instead Naturia Leodrake. When presented to the judges, they ruled that it still should count as a Naturia Beast - which makes sense to me!

My question's about a slightly different reprint; what would be the ad hoc solution in my case? I have three copies of Zoodiac Barrage, but they're all misprinted. Instead of "Zoodiac Barrage," the names all read "Terminal World NEXT," and instead of Barrage's text the cards read "Activate this card if your opponent controls 3 or fewer monsters and 3 or fewer Spell/Trap cards while you control no other cards. Cards cannot be placed on the field if it would give any player more than 3 monsters or more than 3 Spell/Trap Cards on their field."

It also says "RATE-EN067" instead of "RATE-EN059" and the picture's wrong. Is this too much of a misprint? I paid a lot of money on eBay for these misprinted Zoodiac Barrages!

Love, Loukas

Hello Loukas!

I hate to ask, but were your “misprinted” Zoodiac Barrages printed in Secret Rare or common rarity.

If it's common rarity, I'm afraid I have some bad news…

And that's it for this week's Court of Appeals! If you have any questions about card interactions, game mechanics or tournament policy, you can send an e-mail (one question per e-mail please!) to askjudgejoe@gmail.com and your question could be answered in a future edition of Court of Appeals!

-Joe Frankino


Joe is a Yu-Gi-Oh! judge and player from Long Island, New York. He streams on occasion at http://twitch.tv/crazdgamer and he writes on occasion at http://crazdgamer.com.


Join our Newsletters

Subscribe to get the latest information on your favorite games.

Subscribe

All original content herein is Copyright 2016 Ascension Gaming Network, Inc. TCGplayer® and MaxPoint® are trademarks of Ascension Gaming Network, Inc.
No portion of this web site may be used without expressed written consent. All rights reserved.
Magic the Gathering and its respective properties are copyright Wizards of the Coast
Privacy Policy  |  Terms of Service