Court of Appeals: April 5 2017

Joe Frankino

4/5/2017 11:00:00 AM
 Comments

All rise!

Hello duelists, and welcome back to Court of Appeals! Every two weeks I'll answer your questions about card interactions, game mechanics and tournament policy submitted to askjudgejoe@gmail.com. I get quite a few submissions, and I most likely can't get to them all. To improve your chances of your e-mail making it to the column, please follow these ground rules...

-I will not answer new questions in the article Comments. If you have a related follow-up question to a question I answer here, you can ask it in the Comments and I will answer it in a reply.

-Please ask only one question per e-mail. Grammar and clarity helps, too.

-I will credit you with how you sign off on your e-mail. If you don't include a name in your signature, I will use your name as it appears in the e-mail's name field with your last initial.

-All answers I give are unofficial unless backed up by an official source.

-I'll be using official game terms whenever possible. If I use jargon (even jargon that is perceived to be universally accepted), I'll note that it's jargon.

-I'll note sources whenever possible.

-I'll always use the official card database as my card text reference. You can find the official card database here: http://www.db.yugioh-card.com/yugiohdb/

-I will not answer any questions about cards not released in the TCG.

Please be seated.

Connor G. writes…

Hello Judge Joe! It's been awhile! How are you? Connor here again with a question on the new spell card Invocation from Fusion Enforcers!

Invocation says you can use monsters in your hand for the Fusion Summon as well as giving you the ability to banish monsters from your field and/or either players graveyard if you're summoning and “Invoked” Fusion. My question seems silly to me, but I just want to clarify! If I choose to fuse with a monster on my side of the field, do I have to banish the monster or can I simply send it to the graveyard like a traditional Fusion Summon? Thanks so much for all you do!

Hello Connor!

As a Spell Card performs any Fusion Summon, you're only allowed to send the materials from your hand. You can only send from the field if you're Fusion Summoning an Invoked monster, and the materials have to be banished per the card's effect.

 Invocation
$56.99
$39.95
$28.95
Invocation127826
Set Fusion Enforcers
Number FUEN-EN035
Type Normal Spell Card
Attribute SPELL 
Rarity Secret Rare
Card Text

Fusion Summon 1 Fusion Monster from your Extra Deck, using monsters from your hand as Fusion Materials. If Summoning an "Invoked" Fusion Monster this way, you can also banish monsters from your field and/or either player's Graveyard as Fusion Materials. If this card is in your Graveyard: You can target 1 of your banished "Aleister the Invoker"; shuffle this card into the Deck, and if you do, add that card to your hand. You can only use this effect of "Invocation" once per turn.


Our Best Prices: [View ALL Prices]
Store Condition Qty Avail Price  
Kemps Kollectables 1st Edition - Near Mint 1 $28.95
Jaeger Hobbies 1st Edition - Near Mint 1 $31.75
EliteYGO 1st Edition - Near Mint 1 $31.89
GadgetDragon 1st Edition - Lightly Played 1 $32.77
Yugioh Black Market 1st Edition - Near Mint 3 $33.00
EZPeasy 1st Edition - Near Mint 2 $34.01

Store.TCGplayer.com allows you to buy cards from any of our vendors, all at the same time, in a simple checkout experience. Shop, Compare & Save with TCGplayer.com! - [Store FAQ]

Matt writes…

Hey Joe,

So I built a really weird deck with Subterrors and Paleozoics. I'm what you would call a budget player, so I was looking for cheap traps to help out the Subterror monsters. I was testing this deck out on (completely unlicensed online dueling simulator - Joe) when something interesting happened. I had two monsters on my field: Subterror Nemesis Warrior and Paleozoic Canadia. I used Warrior's effect, sent the Level 6 Subterror Behemoth Dragossuary to the graveyard, then chose Warrior and Canadia as the Tributes to Special Summon it. As the cards resolved, Archer was tributed, and Dragossuary was Special Summoned from the graveyard AND Canadia stayed on the field…

I looked at the screen confused and scratching my head.

So I set up (aforementioned totally unlicensed dueling application - Joe) so I could repeat the circumstances. I got my field to have Subterror Nemesis Warrior, Subterror Nemesis Archer, and Paleozoic Olenoides. Warrior sent level 9 Subterror Behemoth Voltelluric to the graveyard, and I selected Warrior, Archer, and Olenoides as my tributes. As it resolved, Warrior and Archer went to graveyard, Voltelluric was Special Summoned, and the selected Paleozoic remained on the field.

So I guess my question is: Was this an (intellectual property-infringing app) glitch? Or does the Paleozoics' monster effect “..if summoned this way, this card is unaffected by monster effects” mean that I can select it as my Tribute, it won't be Tributed and requirements are still met for the special summon to be completed? Hope you can help me out and clear up some confusion! ~ Thanks! Matt

Hello Matt!

And this is why we don't use non-official apps to play Yu-Gi-Oh.

“But it works on (online thing not developed by Konami)” is one of my biggest pet peeves when judging, for a variety of reasons, but mostly because the interactions within said programs are *mostly* accurate, but not always. And that's the case here.

So while you can target a Paleozoic monster trap monster with a monster effect like Subterror Nemesis Warrior's, when Warrior resolves, the Paleozoic won't be sent because it can't be affected by a monster ability, and by the rules of Problem-Solving Card Text, you didn't complete the first part – the levels of the monsters you Tributed didn't meet or exceed the Level of the sent Subterror monster – you stop resolving the effect there. The Subterror monster should not be Summoned.

Chris A writes…

Hey Judge Joe! How're you today? Christopher A. here with another question for you.

If Player A activates Polymerization or something like Fullmetalfoes Fusion and Player B responds with Dimensional Barrier declaring Fusion, does Player A still have to send the monsters he was originally going to use? Or does he not send anything since the summon can't be performed correctly?

Thank you for your help! ~ Christopher A.

Hello Chris!

The procedure for Fusion Summoning includes both sending the materials and putting the Fusion Monster onto the field. If you can't Fusion Summon due to a card effect like Dimensional Barrier, you don't do anything; don't send the materials and don't Summon the Fusion Monster.

 Dimensional Barrier
$65.99
$10.91
$7.25
Dimensional Barrier124795
Set Invasion: Vengeance
Number INOV-EN078
Type Normal Trap Card
Attribute TRAP 
Rarity Secret Rare
Card Text

Declare 1 monster card type (Ritual, Fusion, Synchro, Xyz, or Pendulum); for the rest of this turn, neither player can Special Summon monsters of the declared type, also negate the effects of all monsters of that type while they are on the field. You can only activate 1 "Dimensional Barrier" per turn.


Our Best Prices: [View ALL Prices]
Store Condition Qty Avail Price  
Pieps Cards Unlimited - Near Mint 1 $6.49
Wills Wares 1st Edition - Near Mint 1 $7.25
Kemps Kollectables 1st Edition - Near Mint 5 $7.75
Tim CardGames Unlimited - Near Mint 1 $8.47
Tim CardGames 1st Edition - Near Mint 1 $8.48
PaipayBrothersGaming 1st Edition - Near Mint 1 $8.63

Store.TCGplayer.com allows you to buy cards from any of our vendors, all at the same time, in a simple checkout experience. Shop, Compare & Save with TCGplayer.com! - [Store FAQ]

Daniel B. writes…

Hello, can you please help with a problem. A friend of mine entered the Battle Phase and had a Graydle Eagle attack my Kaiju monster to destroyed itself, then Eagle's effect activated in the graveyard and targeted my Zoodiac Drident. I chained Drident's own effect and targeted itself. Can I activate Drident's effect in a chain to Graydle Eagle targeting it, or can I not because it's the Damage Step. Please let me know and thank you.

Hello Daniel!

As per the rulebook, the only effects that can activate during the Damage Step are Counter Traps and effects that modify ATK/DEF. Zoodiac Drident's effect can't be activated during the Damage Step, so you can't chain it to Graydle Eagle.

Colton B. writes…

Hello sir, I'm working on a new deck and had a question regarding Gold Sarcophagus. If I activate multiple copies in one turn, would the banished cards come to my hand at the end of two turns? Or do I have to activate one Gold Sarcophagus, wait two turns then activate the second one. Didn't see this online anywhere and was just wondering. ~ Colton B.

Hello Colton!

Nothing is preventing you from activating more than one Gold Sarcophagus in a single turn. Both of the cards you banished will be added to your hand in your second Standby Phase.

Nathaniel B. writes…

Hi Joe,

I appreciate all of your efforts helping the community answering rulings questions! My question concerns the spell Xyz Gift. With Zoodiacs easily putting two Xyz Monster on the field, I decided to revisit this card. When resolving it, you must send two materials to the graveyard from a monster you control. The question is, do you have to send materials from the same monster you control? Most cards requiring you to remove materials from one monster would read "remove from 1 monster you control". Instead, Xyz Gift reads "a monster you control". (Hilariously unlicensed dueling program) lets you detach from multiple monsters though I know that's not a good source for rulings.

Opinions I've found online also lean towards letting you detach from multiple monsters. This is extremely relevant as you'll often end your combo with an M-X-Saber Invoker and a Daigusto Emeral on field each with an unused material. ~ Thanks and regards, Nate B.

Hello Nate!

Another case for not trusting strange programs from strangers!

There's been no text update for the card since its initial printing in Photon Shockwave and the card says to detach 2 Xyz Materials from “a monster”, not “a monster(s)”. Play the card as written. You must detach two Xyz Materials from one monster.

 Xyz Gift
$6.95
$0.82
$0.38
Xyz Gift57309
Set Photon Shockwave
Number PHSW-EN049
Type Spell Card
Attribute SPELL 
Rarity Ultra Rare
Card Text

If you control 2 or more face-up Xyz Monsters: Detach 2 Xyz Materials from a monster you control and draw 2 cards.


Our Best Prices: [View ALL Prices]
Store Condition Qty Avail Price  
NC collectibles Unlimited - Near Mint 1 $0.25
Inertia Gaming Unlimited - Lightly Played 1 $0.29
GameTimeCC Unlimited - Damaged 1 $0.31
OmnomaxTradersLLC Unlimited - Near Mint 1 $0.31
GameTimeCC Unlimited - Heavily Played 1 $0.33
Inertia Gaming Unlimited - Near Mint 4 $0.34

Store.TCGplayer.com allows you to buy cards from any of our vendors, all at the same time, in a simple checkout experience. Shop, Compare & Save with TCGplayer.com! - [Store FAQ]

An Unknown Duelist writes…

Hey Judge Joe, I got a rulings question? Pot of Desires states that it removes ten cards from the top of the deck face-down. We know cards like Burial from a Different Dimension and Pot of Acquisitiveness don't work as the face-down cards can't be determined and they return specific cards, like monsters, but would Paleozoic Leanchoilia work, as it targets a banished card and returns it to the graveyard. Thanks in advance!

Hello person who didn't sign the e-mail! (Hopefully you know who you are.)

You may activate Paleozoic Leanchoilia targeting a banished face-down card as it's simply a card and doesn't require anything more.

Last question!

Steve writes…

When you Summon a Wind Synchro Monster, such as Crystal Wing Synchro Dragon, using Windwitch - Snow Bell, can the effect of Windwitch - Snow Bell be negated with a card like Breakthrough Skill?

Windwitch - Snow Bell doesn't say that the effect is added to the card, where cards like the Zoodiac cards explicitly state that the effect is; which leads me to believe that Windwitch - Snow Bell's effects would not be negated.

A secondary question regarding a very similar issue:

If a Wind Synchro Monster, such as Crystal Wing Synchro Dragon, using Windwitch - Snow Bell as Synchro Material is flipped face-down, then face-up again, does the non-destruction stay with the card, or not due to the monster going face-down? And could you destroy the card while face down.

Thank for all the help ~ Steve

Hello Steve!

Windwitch – Snow Bell doesn't give an additional effect to the monster it's used to Summon. Using Breakthrough Skill on the Crystal Wing Synchro Dragon won't remove the protection from opponent's card effects that would destroy it.

However, if Crystal Wing Synchro Dragon goes face-down, any previously resolved effects on it will disappear. This includes things like ATK/DEF buffs and the protection from Windwitch – Snow Bell.

And that's it for this week's Court of Appeals! If you have a question about card interactions, game mechanics or tournament policy, send me an e-mail (one question per e-mail please!) to askjudgejoe@gmail.com and your question could be answered in a future Court of Appeals!

Court is adjourned

-Joe Frankino


Joe is a Yu-Gi-Oh! judge and player from Long Island, New York. You can find some of his non-TCG writings on http://crazdgamer.com and his video game streams on http://twitch.tv/crazdgamer.


Join our Newsletters

Subscribe to get the latest information on your favorite games.

Subscribe

All original content herein is Copyright 2016 Ascension Gaming Network, Inc. TCGplayer® and MaxPoint® are trademarks of Ascension Gaming Network, Inc.
No portion of this web site may be used without expressed written consent. All rights reserved.
Magic the Gathering and its respective properties are copyright Wizards of the Coast
Privacy Policy  |  Terms of Service