Court of Appeals: May 17 2017

Joe Frankino

5/17/2017 11:00:00 AM

All rise!

Hello duelists, and welcome back to Court of Appeals! Every two weeks I'll answer your questions about card interactions, game mechanics and tournament policy submitted to I get quite a few submissions, and I most likely can't get to them all. To improve your chances of your e-mail making it to the column, please follow these ground rules...

-I will not answer new questions in the article Comments. If you have a related follow-up question to a question I answer here, you can ask it in the Comments and I will answer it in a reply.

-Please ask only one question per e-mail. Grammar and clarity helps, too.

-I will credit you with how you sign off on your e-mail. If you don't include a name in your signature, I will use your name as it appears in the e-mail's name field with your last initial.

-All answers I give are unofficial unless backed up by an official source.

-I'll be using official game terms whenever possible. If I use jargon (even jargon that is perceived to be universally accepted), I'll note that it's jargon.

-I'll note sources whenever possible.

-I'll always use the official card database as my card text reference. You can find the official card database here:

-I will not answer any questions about cards not released in the TCG.

Please be seated.

Jacob C, writes…

Hey Joe. My friends and I saw a recent Market Watch article and a couple of my friends are saying, Intercept is getting a lot of attention because of Kaijus. I don't think Intercept would work on a Kaiju Summon. Does it work like that?

Hello Jacob!

When a Kaiju is Special Summoned using the ability in its text, it's tributing a monster for a Special Summon. This is not considered a Tribute Summon. A Tribute Summon is specifically defined as a Normal Summon requiring tribute because of its high level. You won't be able to use Intercept when a Kaiju is Special Summoned since a Special Summon is not a Tribute Summon.

 Gameciel, the Sea Turtle Kaiju
Gameciel, the Sea Turtle Kaiju122461
Set 2016 Mega-Tins Mega Pack
Number MP16-EN164
Level 8
Type Effect Monster
Monster Aqua
Attribute WATER 
A / D 2200 / 3000
Rarity Rare
Card Text

You can Special Summon this card (from your hand) to your opponent's field in Attack Position, by Tributing 1 monster they control. If your opponent controls a "Kaiju" monster, you can Special Summon this card (from your hand) in Attack Position. You can only control 1 "Kaiju" monster. During either player's turn, when your opponent activates a card or effect, except "Gameciel, the Sea Turtle Kaiju": You can remove 2 Kaiju Counters from anywhere on the field; negate the activation, and if you do, banish that card.

Store Condition Qty Avail Price  
Buds Place Unlimited - Lightly Played 1 $9.82
fangproductions 1st Edition - Near Mint 1 $11.00
OmegaGaming 1st Edition - Near Mint 1 $11.00
Collector's Cache 1st Edition - Near Mint 2 $11.48
EvolutionGaming Inc 1st Edition - Near Mint 1 $11.50
Sun City Games 1st Edition - Lightly Played 1 $11.70
TeamGuyaneseGamer Unlimited - Near Mint 1 $11.76
CardCraze Gaming 1st Edition - Near Mint 4 $12.49
BurgerAndFriez Unlimited - Near Mint 1 $12.51
OmegaGaming Unlimited - Near Mint 1 $12.75

Juan R. writes…

Hi Judge Joe! Thank you for answering my previous question.

This time I'd like to know how does Pacifis, the Phantasm City interact with Gemini Monsters. Will the Field Spell trigger?

Hello Juan!

Gemini monsters are Normal Monsters on the field and in the graveyard. They don't become Effect Monsters until you Normal Summon them while they're already on the field. When you initially Summon a Gemini Monster, you've just Normal Summoned a Normal Monster, so you can trigger the Field Spell effect to add a Phantasm Spiral card from deck to hand!

Josh writes…

Hey Judge Joe,

I absolutely love the Court of Appeals, but I have a question for you that I ran into at locals. Player A is turn player and has a face-up Attack Position Ultimate Conductor Tyranno and Player B has a face-down Clear Wing Synchro Dragon. Player A attacks the face-down Clear Wing and activates Ultimate Conductor Tyranno's effect to burn for 1000 and send Clear Wing to the grave, does Clear Wing have the opportunity to flip face-up and negate Ultimate Conductor Tyranno's effect? Also, would Tyranno get banished if it attacked into a face-down Zoodiac Drident with a Zoodiac Whiptail attached to it? ~ Thanks, Josh

Hello Josh!

According to the Damage Step page, “at the start of the Damage Step” occurs before a face-down monster flips face-up. Ultimate Conductor Tyranno's effect activates before the opponent's monster flips face-up, answering both of your questions; Clear Wing Synchro Dragon can't activate its effect, and neither can Zoodiac Drident's effect granted by Zoodiac Whiptail. (If you're wondering why, a face-down monster can't activate effects unless the card specifically says it can, like Big Shield Gardna.)

Elijah B. writes…

Hi Judge Joe,

I've recently been playing Yu-Gi-Oh! again and had a particular situation I believe was resolved incorrectly. My opponent had a Zoodiac Drident in Attack Position with one Xyz Material left and I Summoned Number 103: Ragnazero. He chained Drident's effect and then I had no window do use Ragnazero as Drident's ATK became zero.

So my question is, does the turn player retain the ability to activate Spell Speed 2 or higher effects in response to their own actions? If yes, then does Ragnazero still destroy Drident if Drident's effect is activated in response to Ragnazero's? Thank you if you get a chance to respond.

Hello Elijah!

Does the turn player retain the ability to activate Spell Speed 2 or higher effects in response to their own actions?” Unequivocally yes. This is very clearly listed on the Fast Effect timing page.

For the follow-up question, Number 103: Ragnazero will still destroy the target even if its ATK is now the same as its original ATK since the effect reads “destroy it” instead of “destroy that target” which would have required the targeting conditions to still hold true.

See the Problem-Solving Card Text article series for more info on the important words in effect text.

David V. writes…

I've got a question about Abyss Actor - Superstar. Its monster effect says "When Normal or Special Summoned, your opponent's Spell/Trap Cards and effects cannot be activated." Does that mean when Summoned, your opponent can't activate Solemn Strike? And that if it's Pendulum Summoned with other monsters at the same time, such as another Abyss Actor or a Metalfoes monster, would the effect of Superstar protect the entire Pendulum Summon? Or does its effect only protect on-Summon effects, like Bottomless Trap Hole or Lose 1 Turn? ~ Sincerely, David V.

Hello David!

Solemn Strike can still negate the Pendulum Summon of Abyss Actor – Superstar. That kind of protection will be explicitly mentioned with the phrase “this card's Pendulum Summon cannot be negated” or something similar. Superstar's protection is when it's successful Normal or Special Summoned and prevents your opponent from activating cards or effects while the last thing to happen is its Normal or Special Summon.

Basically, your opponent can't use Bottomless Trap Hole, Torrential Tribute and such.

HorusLV12 writes…

Hi Joe,

Since we are getting so many new archetypes as well as support for old ones, I wanted to ask a question about Maximum Crisis. I am testing True Draco Monarchs and I came upon this issue.

I had a set Continuous Spell as well as The Prime Monarch. I tributed both to Summon Master Peace the True Dracoslaying King. As Prime was both a monster and a trap at the time of tribute, is Master Peace unaffected by Spells, Traps and Monster effects? The card states that it's unaffected by cards of the same type that were tribute. Thanks! ~ HorusLV12

Hello HorusLV12!

The card text for Master Peace, the True Dracoslaying King specifies that it looks at the original card type of the cards Tributed for its Tribute Summon. Using The Prime Monarch will only grant Trap immunity to Master Peace, so the Master Peace you Summoned in your question would only be unaffected by Spell and Trap effects.

 Master Peace, the True Dracoslaying King
Master Peace, the True Dracoslaying King131141
Set Maximum Crisis
Number MACR-EN024
Level 8
Type Effect Monster
Monster Wyrm
Attribute LIGHT 
A / D 2950 / 2950
Rarity Secret Rare
Card Text

To Tribute Summon this card face-up, you can Tribute Continuous Spell/Trap Card(s) you control, as well as monsters. Unaffected by the effects of cards with the same card type (Monster, Spell, and/or Trap) as the original card type of the cards Tributed for its Tribute Summon. Once per turn, during either player's turn, if you control this Tribute Summoned monster: You can banish 1 Continuous Spell/Trap Card from your Graveyard, then target 1 other card on the field; destroy it.

Store Condition Qty Avail Price  
Deck Techs 1st Edition - Near Mint 1 $3.25
Yatalock 1st Edition - Near Mint 2 $3.39
Pro-PlayGames 1st Edition - Near Mint 1 $3.76
ChardarYuGiOh 1st Edition - Near Mint 3 $3.79
Alter Reality Games Unlimited - Near Mint 1 $3.95
CardShackLLC Unlimited - Near Mint 2 $3.98
OverdoseGaming Unlimited - Near Mint 3 $3.99
fangproductions 1st Edition - Near Mint 2 $4.36
PaipayBrothersGaming 1st Edition - Near Mint 2 $4.37
CDgames 1st Edition - Near Mint 2 $4.38

Connor K. writes…

Hi Judge Joe! I've been messing around with funny Infernoid and I keep running into a situation I'm not sure of.

My question is on the interaction between Imperial Order and Void Imagination. Suppose my opponent has Imperial Order face up and I control Void Imagination. If I use Imagination's second effect by sending it to the graveyard to Fusion Summon Infernoid Tierra, would it be negated by Imperial Order since the effect activated on the field, or would it not be negated because it resolved off the field? Thanks in advance! ~ Connor K.

Hello Connor!

It's as you suspect: because Void Imagination's Fusion Summon effect activates on the field, Imperial Order will negate it regardless of the fact that the Spell is no longer on the field.

Tom writes…

Hello Joe,

I'm currently running a BLS deck with Black Luster Soldier - Envoy of the Beginning, Black Luster Soldier - Envoy of the Evening Twilight, Black Luster Soldier -Sacred Soldier, and two Black Luster Soldier - Super Soldiers in my deck.

When I've been activating Beginning of Heaven and Earth, I've been revealing three Black Luster Soldier – Sacred Soldier because the card text reads “Reveal 3 Warrior-Type monsters from your deck, including at least 1 ‘Black Luster Soldier' monster…” Since the card doesn't say “only one” BLS or Gaia The Fierce Knight, my thought is that if I'm willing to send two BLS to the graveyard, I'll be guaranteed to get one.

However, my friends have been arguing that it's just typical poor wording on the card and that at most I can reveal one BLS, one Gaia, and one other Warrior. Of course I want to be fair, but I feel very strongly that my interpretation of the card was correct. Can you help shed some light on the matter? - Tom

Hello Tom!

While I agree that there's sometimes arguments over wording in this game, I don't think there's any doubt on this one. If Beginning of Heaven and Earth had a cap on how many Black Luster Soldier monsters you could pick, the card would say as much.

“At least” means that many or more. You can choose one BLS or Gaia The Fierce Knight plus two other Warriors, one BLS plus one Gaia and one Gaia, two BLS's plus a Warrior, two Gaia's plus a Warrior or a combination of any three BLS's and Gaia's. All of those configurations fit the phrasing described on Beginning of Heaven and Earth.

Last question!

Bud writes…

So I had a question on Fire King Island. If I activated Set Rotation, gave my opponent a set Fire King Island, and then destroyed it, whose monsters would be destroyed?

I know if I have say, Pyramid Turtle, and I give a copy to my opponent through the use of Creature Swap and then destroy that copy in battle, it's been ruled that I get the effect since it goes to my graveyard and activates. Does the same apply to Fire King Island when I give it to my opponent with Set Rotation and then destroy it? ~ Bud

Hello Bud!

Destroyed cards go to the owner's graveyard. The Fire King Island you gave to your opponent through Set Rotation will go to your graveyard and trigger in your graveyard, destroying your monsters.

And that's it for this week's Court of Appeals! If you have any questions about card interactions, game mechanics or tournament policy, you can send an e-mail (one question per e-mail please!) to and your question could be answered in a future edition of Court of Appeals!

Court is adjourned.

-Joe Frankino

Joe is a Yu-Gi-Oh! judge and player from Long Island, New York. He streams on occasion at and he writes on occasion at

All original content herein is Copyright 2018 TCGplayer, Inc.® is a trademark of TCGplayer, Inc. No portion of this website may be used without expressed written consent.
All rights reserved.
Privacy Policy  |  Terms of Service